Local History

The Illawarra Museum collection is held in the first purpose-built Post and Telegraph Museum in Wollongong (1882-1892). The Museum operates on a voluntary basis. The objects collected and displayed relate to Illawarra's past with particular emphasis on the years at the close of the 19th Century. The Society has a collection of over 9,000 photographs in custody of Wollongong City Library and has also published many books on local history. The collection presents a picture of pioneer life including settlement, education, agriculture, mining, transport and trade. The entrance room features a...
Museum is part of the Visitors Centre. Montague Island is 7km (5.7 Nautical Miles) off Narooma, and is the largest inshore island on the NSW coast. It is now a nature reserve under control of NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and is home to the largest sea bird/penguin colonies also possibly the most northerly bull seal "haul out" site of the NSW coast. Montague Island was discovered by the convict transport ship "Surprise" in 1790 and named after George Montague Dunk, Earl of Halifax. Because of its location and importance to shipping, the Government of the day...
This museum is part Holy Trinity, Garrison Church the first military settlement with maps. The military section shows memorabilia from Boer War to Gulf War inclusive.Sydney's early history photos of people and places. Inclusive is first Prime Minister who attended this hall when it was a Parish School, as well as Cedric Immanuel prints, paintings of Rocks, maps of early Sydney, medal, WW2 uniforms, etc.
The Society collects and display objects from the Gloucester District that were associated with education.This weatherboard building was constructed in 1936. It was a Department of Education building from 1936 to 1969 and was originally located at Upper Bowman (near Gloucester). On the closure of the one teacher school, the Society moved the building to its current site and set it up as a school museum.
Constructed in the 1870's The Old Dubbo Gaol served as a penal institution until 1966. Fully restored to its original condition, the gaol was re-opened as an historic and educational tourist attraction in 1974. The Gaol is home to Australia's 3rd largest collection of taking/animated models which give a realistic and fascinating insight into prison life. The gaol boasts a large display of historical artefacts including an original set of gallows and a full hangman's kit.Original gallows - freestanding in Gaol yard. Full Hangman's kit (believed to be only one of two in existence in Australia...
Historical Cottage built in 1887. Corrugated iron and log sheds (shearing Shed Style). Extensive collections maintained, restored, conserved by volunteers. Special exhibitions arranged in line with community events such as a wool display for prime stock day and a "1901" theme for the centenary of federation.Local rural community archival religions and phonographs. Historical cottage with turn of the century display. i.e. Kitchen with old fuel stove, meat safes, butter churning, china, lace, linen, silver teapots. Antique farming machinery, office equipment, sulkies harness etc.
Convict built church commenced 1824, also surgeon's dispensary (now chapel) and surgeon's residence both built between 1821 and 1823. All furnishings of cedar, including box pews. Several items dating from early 1800's others from 1824 onwards. Church hill oldest site in Port Macquarie. Grave of Captain Rolland under front N.E. box pew (first supervisor of convicts building the church). An exquisite open string spiral cedar staircase in tower. There are many unusual (because of age mostly) and beautiful objects in our church, perhaps the most outstanding is the stained glass window of St...
This is only a new building having been officially opened in September 1991. It is situated about 100 yards from the main street through town and though only small , all collections are quite unique and graphically depict the displays they represent.Gerringong Museum's strength lies in a series of small, though compact displays. As we are a dairying district this exhibit takes pride of place, includes types of cattle and tools. A Geology and Fauna display. Models of early shops - an exhibit of Kingsford Smiths "Southern Cross" and records of Pioneer families.
Military memorabilia collection lecture room with range of historical information magazines, books, videos, photos. Opened November 11th 2001. Growing fast.Memorabilia of Australian involvement in all Military actions. Historical documents and publications, documentary videos. Growing fast.
Buildings include; the old lockup and residence (1870) which houses the museum; and the Sergeant's Residence which is the research centre. Next door is the old Court House (pre 1900). The society researches and publishes historical material relevant to Scone and district, creates special exhibitions (Australia Day, Horse Festival) and collects material relevant to the district.Estimated 20,000 objects plus records and photographs.
The museum celebrates the history of one of NSW's most significant local mines. Its focus is on the Richmond Main Colliery, the Brown family and John Brown who established the mine, and the union/social history associated with the mine from its inception in the early 1900s to 1967 when it closed. The buildings on the site give the park a unique atmosphere and are in varying states of preservation. The Richmond Vale Railway Museum is also on site and offers regular steam train rides from Richmond Main to Pelaw MainThe museum is a display on the history of the Richmond Main Colliery....
The Museum building was constructed in 1909. It was opened in 1910 as the Gloucester Shire Council Chambers. The Council occupied the building until 1959. It then became a private residence until 1984 when the Gloucester District Historical Society Inc. purchased it. The building is listed in the Register of the National Trust of Australia (NSW).The Society collects and displays objects from the Gloucester District. Objects are, Australian domestic items, textiles, toys, military memorabilia, geological specimens, tools and photographs of activities, events and scenes of the Gloucester
...
Museum is situated in the historic railway station dated 1883. Centre of Nyngan, on the Mitchell Highway, group visit, ex. School's various clubs, meeting place. Audio system's with pioneer tapes. Video on 1990 flood. Reading machine with old local paper dated from 1898 to 1994. Girilambone copper mines display, of types of ore and working. Barber shop. Bob Giddy from 1904. 1969 flood photo and history.History of Nyngan in writing. Photographs, 2 audio, room, tape record.
Twenty two panels of handworked pictures of local history from 1818 to 1988. These are in large timber frames, fixed to walls in the main hall in the council owned senior citizens building.Twenty two panels of handworked pictures of local history from 1818 to 1988. These are in large timber frames, fixed to walls in the main hall in the council owned senior citizens building.

The Museum is a former Methodist church and rebuilt slab settlers cottage furnished with Australian colonial furniture, mostly home made & original. It contains displays pertaining to the family histories of people from the Laralga district.Local history eg. Machinery used for dairying, potato growing, cropping etc. Photographs of local interest. Books from now closed stores, ledgers etc.

Housed in the East Wing of the historical Bathurst Court House in the centre of the city. Opposite King's Parade, the Carillon, Evans Memorial and Boer War Memorial. Enclosed at the back by the beautiful and historical Machattie Park. In an area surrounded by many well preserved historical buildings in the city's conservation area.Collection of late 19th Century and 20th Century items from Bathurst and surrounding districts. Excellent photographic collection. Excellent collection of rare Ben Chifley memorabilia including many personal items.
Emmaville mining museum has been an extensive collection of minerals and gems from the Emmaville area and around the world. It also contains the world reknown Curnow collectionTh Curnow Collection is the bulk of our collection, which is made up of mineral specimens and photographs. There is also a Chinese element to our museum.
The Museum building dates back to C1871 when James Campbell Duff built a general store. The building is the oldest commercial premises in Wingham.Local History as seen in photos, farm equipment, hospital equipment, home life, education, good living, music and wartime. Also a collection of Local and Family History Archives.
Tarella Historic Cottage is in its original condition. In 1879 John McLaughlin was granted 50 acres in the Blue Mountains in recognition of his service in the NSW Volunteer Force. The grant is on Cox's Road at the site of 'Hobby's Reach', the stretch of road constructed by LT. Hobby in Cox's absence. In C.1886 John McLaughlin built Tarella as a holiday home for his family, and it was in the family's ownership until 1988 when the last remaining daughter Beryl (there being no issue) bequeathed the cottage, the contents and the remaining three acres to the Blue Mountains Historical Society. A...
The Turkish Bath Museum, having been built in the 1880's by Richard Wynne, a founder of Mt Wilson and the benefactor for the Wynne Art Prize for Landscape and Sculpture, is situated on a hill facing north overlooking the Blue Mountains National Park and is part of the heritage estate of 'Wynstay' which is listed on the State Heritage Register. The Museum is also on the National Heritage register. Now partly conserved, it is a stylish building with beautifully stained and hand painted glass windows, polychrome brick work, Italianate decoration and an elaborate turret. Although there is only...

Pages