Local History

The Liverpool Museum was established in 1989 and aims to preserve and promote Liverpool's history and cultural heritage through historical collections, exhibitions and public programs. They explore changing cultural experiences of local people - ways of living, working and believing (in workplaces, homes and communities).

Items from the past are used extensively in Museum exhibitions and public programs - community addresses, education programs and publications.

The Museum includes historic Collingwood House, which dates from 1810 and was the home of Nantucket whaling...
In 1841 Berrima Court House was the site of the first trial by jury in Australia. The museum focuses on Australia's colonial history. The discovery of the district by explorers and the reasons for settlement of the region are depicted on a multi-projector, wide-screen audio visual presentation. Highlights of infamous trials that took place at Berrima Court house are also depicted on the audio visual display. Visitors can explore the Court House building which includes the imposing judge's chambers and grand jury room.The grand jury room has displays of early corporal punishment devices and...
The museum building is important due to its age and place in Albury's history. There is an active program of events, talks, and school holiday programs. The museum also collaborates with the local Charles Sturt University and other knowledge based institutions and historical societies. Plans for a purpose-built museum in the city centre as part of a cultural precinct are underway.A varied collection from thimbles to Sunshine harvesters. Approximately 18,000 objects. Two significant collections are the Bonegilla Collection and the McPherson photographic collection.
Nutcote was the harbourside home of the famous children's author and illustrator May Gibbs. It was built to her design in 1925 by acclaimed Sydney architect B.J Waterhouse. She lived there for forty four years until her death in 1969. Following a nation-wide outcry at the proposed demolition by a developer, the house was bought by the North Sydney Council and opened to the public in 1994.May Gibbs' property and possessions were sold on her death and the funds given to children's charities. The main items in the collection are the house itself and the garden; some items of furniture originally...
The Museum of the Riverina has two impressive sites. The first is situated in the former Historic Council Chambers, built in 1881, and converted in 1998 to function as a museum facility. This site is used as a meeting venue - in the former chamber - and as a venue for hosting a regular program of travelling exhibitions.

The second site, adjacent to the Botanic Gardens, was formerly run by the Wagga Wagga & District Historical Society, and opened in 1965. The site was renovated and reopened in September 2001 and contains internal exhibitions and a number of outbuildings. The...
Yamba's museum display has often been described by visitors as the finest small historical collection on Australia's east coast. Sited close to the towns centre on a sealed road which leads to one of the area's most beautiful Pacific Ocean beaches, the museum is located in spacious grounds with ample off-street parking. Directly opposite in a well-maintained park is a fully restored 150 year flagstaff, which once controlled the entry and exit of all ships into the nearby Clarence River, the biggest single waterway on the East Coast. The flagstaff surrounds are the focal point fro many local...
The museum houses the work of the Millthorpe and District Historical Society, who have spent thirty-six years collecting, conserving and displaying district records, artefacts, farm equipment, family history and photographs and domestic appliances. The Society provides Family History research, copies of portraits and material. They promote local history through special events, host family reunions, provide access for school excursions and coach tours, and undertake fund-raising ventures for capital improvements to the museum property.The collection includes; farm machinery, an important...
Collection of photographs of early fishing, timber and shipping industries in the area. Files of early pioneer families and local history. Early timber-working tools and domestic artefacts.1910 Heritage listed post office building; artefacts pertaining to the area. Emphasis on collecting old photographs and local history research
With origins dating back to 1826, the Library has a unique history and a collection consisting of over 5 million items plus 9,533 linear metres of manuscripts and 5,368 hours of oral history. It is a premier information resource for the people of New South Wales and beyond.The Mitchell Library and the Dixson Library form the Australian Research Collections of the State Library of New South Wales. These Collections contain materials in a variety of formats relating to Australia and the south-west Pacific, with special emphasis on the state of New South Wales.

All kinds of...
This picturesque colonial Georgian cottage (c.1845) set in fine gardens was bequeathed to the National Trust by Miss Ida Traill, a descendant of pioneering settlers in the Bathurst district. The 19th century cottage garden is ablaze with colour in Spring. Containing memorabilia collected by Miss Traill and her family, the cottage provides an authentic record of life in Australia's oldest inland city.
An open air museum, consisiting of a former coal mine site and three kilometres of associated railway structure. An authentic coal mining site, interpreting coal mining histoy within a context of mining ans associated industries.Artefacts related to the industrial history of the NSW Western Coal fields, including coal mining, support industries, steel making and rail transport.
Australia's Only Black & White Art Gallery exhibiting original cartoons only from the 3rd largest private collection in Australia. Rotary Cartoon Awards WWII heritage listed RAAF Bunker. Converted and restored by Rotary Club of Coffs Harbour City. Regarding Australia's History and Heritage with Humour.Australia's Only Black & White Art Gallery housed in 1943 WWII RAAF Bunker (Heritage listed) exhibited cartoons from Rotary National and International Cartoon collection plus displays from private collections. NSW state forests Henry Kendell Collection on display.
This local history collection covers Pittwater local government area, and to some extent Manly and Warringah. It includes photographs, books, documents, newspaper cuttings and oral histories.3,500 Photographs, 300 Books, Files, Documents, Oral histories, Maps, Displays
The Blue Mountains Historical Society's premises are on the site of a 50 acre grant of land to John McLaughlin, a Sydney solicitor and member of the Legislative Council in 1879. This historic cottage, "Tarella", which was built by him in 1890, is the oldest cottage on the northern side of Wentworth Falls. The cottage rooms are set up in the period of the early 1900s with many items belonging to the McLaughlin family, who were the sole owners prior to the BMHS ownership in 1988.

The modern premises consist of the Research Centre, which holds over 10,000 local records of...
The museum complex consists of four historical buildings: the old Court House, the R.S.L. Hall, Boyd's (fishing) Shed and the Deck House of the drogher 'Terranora'. The museum's collection is housed in the Soldiers Memorial Hall and contains an interesting array of maritime artifacts and photographs.

The old Court House contains the Resource Centre which has a rapidly growing collection of historical material available to the public. The Court House also contains the Photographic Gallery which has an impressive array of old prints of the Tweed and Twin Towns area.The museum's...
Our mission is to seek out and archive all materials, resources and artefacts which contribute to an understanding and appreciation of the history of the Granville district and to provide researchers access to this material. The Society has a fine reference and resource library for the district and operates from the Granville Neighbourhood Centre.Granville Historical Society Inc. has an extensive library which contains numerous publications relating to the history of Granville: its environs, people, places and events. The artefacts collection consists of over six hundred items which reflect...
The Powerhouse Museum Research Library collection, services and staff expertise provide a rich research resource for museum staff, library visitors and colleagues in the cultural sector. The Research Library collection dates from the establishment of the museum in 1880. The collection is diverse and reflects the changing research requirements from the past and anticipates future research needs. The library collects to support exhibition development, publication production, education programmes, museology and corporate information needs.The research Library collection reflects the interests...
Ku-ring-gai Library in Gordon has been built on the site of the former Gordon Public School and incorporates the original sandstone school building (1876 - 1913). The library's collection can be searched online at the web address listed below. Also available online are digitised photographs.The library collects unique materials which record the history of the Ku-ring-gai area (Wahroonga, Turramurra, St Ives, Pymble, Gordon, Killara, Lindfield and Roseville). Materials which are accessible to the public during library hours include books, newspapers, maps and photographs. Also available by...
Bundanoon History Group Inc has a collection relevant to Bundanoon dating from 1862. The display is constantly rotated between the stack and display room. The collection contains photos, newspaper articles, essays and letters - of particular interest are those of Jordan's Crossing.The collection is mainly paper records: both text and photographs. There are photographs of schools and school children, class rolls covering almost 150 years of a village where agriculture, timber and coal industries flourished. Contemporary information is also collected.
Nine buildings housing items of historical interest to Walcha and the surrounding district. There is the Museum, Original Pioneer Cottage, Wool Museum, Tiger Moth Aeroplane Hangar. Walcha is situated on the Southern New England Tablelands and was discovered in 1818 and settled from 1832 - 1839. The local history centre houses an extensive collection of maps, books, ledgers, photographs and memorabilia about Walcha and the surrounding districts.Local community archival records and photographs, clothing collection, small Aboriginal artefact collection and Dendroglyph plus pioneer and...

Pages