Mines and Mining

The Museum was formerly the Kandos Methodist Church, a unique building built to an American plan, brought to the town by the manager of NSW Cement, Lime and Coal Co. in 1915.

The Museum has a strong focus on the Cement industry based in this shire. It is possibly the only Museum in the state to collect, record and present the history and devlopment of the cement industry. There are also large collections relating to the domestic, agricultural, leisure, communications and transport history of the area. An extensive photograph collection together with written records relating to the...
Richmond Vale Railway Museum was commenced in 1979 to rebuild the abandoned private railways of the J & A Brown coalmining family. The museum now operates steam engine - hauled passenger trains between former collieries of Richmond main and Pelaw main. The historic park occupies the site of what was once the largest shaft mine in the southern hemisphere. Many of the buildings have been restored.9 Steam locomotives used by local industries, 2 ex BHP steam cranes, which were used to build Newcastle steelworks. Four industrial diesel locomotives. 21 Passenger carriages, 62 ex government...
Since its opening in 1968, the Gundagai Museum has displayed a wealth of historical memorabilia depicting a life that was both hard and gracious. Special exhibits include Phar Lap's saddlecloth, the shirt worn by Banjo Patterson's Kiley of Kileys Run and the assayer's bowl used by US President Herbert Hoover. The museum also features displays on bushrangers; Melba XV; the famous Gundagai cow; and Aboriginal hero Yarri. Other items in its collection include scaled models of early buildings and historical photographs and documents.Approximately 10,000 items of historical memorabilia
Visitors can explore all aspects of Cobar's unique industrial, pastoral, Aboriginal and social history during a visit to the centre. Displays are housed in the Great Cobar Copper Mine's magnificent administration building erected in 1910. Interpretive signs outside guide visitors through the grounds and an amazing collection of mining and transport artefacts, and on to the surrounding heritage areas.20,000 objects relating to the social, mining, pastoral and Aboriginal history of the Cobar district, ranging from large transport to fine instruments. Includes over 3,000 photographs and 50 art...
Visitors to this working museum can view a collection of light railway equipment in progressive stages of restoration, and on steaming days, ride in vintage carriages behind steam locomotives. The railway display includes steam locomotives, vintage carriages, early era miner's trams and mine cars. In addition, a selection of restored industrial steam machinery engines are demonstrated in motion.
This interactive museum and interpretive centre displays the best of the Broken Hill city mineral collection. The GeoCentre uses the wonders of Broken Hill geology to explain Earth Sciences, especially mineralogy, metallurgy and geological time.1000 - 2000 mineral specimens. Several hundred mining social history artefacts.
The front building of the Museum was originally used as a house dating from 1842. It is the only remaining house building in the CBD area of Port Macquarie from that era.
All artefacts on display show development from convict beginnings to early settlement from the 1840s. Displays at the museum include; a 'street of shops' depicting life as it was in the 1800s and a prize-winning costume collection. The museum has been in operation for over 40 years and is the winner of awards for best museum.More than 20,000 items collected over a period of 40 years. Artefacts from all aspects of Port...
Housed in Osborne Hall, 1878, originally entertainment centre with Osborne Hotel. Great variety of items pertaining to life in Forbes from early days, household settings, clothing, gold mining collection, splendid and extensive photographic collection, Paul Wenz corner, Ben Hall (Bush Ranger) unique memorabilia, aboriginal display, outside area has examples of agricultural and shearing items, farming vehicle and many more treasures of the way of life in earlier Forbes and District.Approximately 20 000 plus items
The University of Wollongong Science Centre and Planetarium was established in late 1989 and quickly became the most popular science based excursion venue in the Illawarra. In addition, the Centre has become a major tourist attraction. There are over 120 hands-on exhibits providing a fun interactive learning environment. Close ties with the University and local industry enables the Centre to provide a valuable resource to all members of the community. Those links, along with the only fixed planetarium in New South Wales and regular astronomy nights also allow the Science Centre to provide a...
Local history of agricultural and mining machinery (mostly horse powered). 14 harvesters, 3 binders, 2 winnowers, 2 hay loaders, 2 hay presses, hay mowers-rakes, sweeps, chaffcutters, 4 wagons, sulkies, carts, 1926 I.H.C Truck, 1932 Bedford Truck, Tractors, ploughs, cultivators, seedsowers, wool presses, shearing plant.300 items
Buildings include; the old lockup and residence (1870) which houses the museum; and the Sergeant's Residence which is the research centre. Next door is the old Court House (pre 1900). The society researches and publishes historical material relevant to Scone and district, creates special exhibitions (Australia Day, Horse Festival) and collects material relevant to the district.Estimated 20,000 objects plus records and photographs.
The museum celebrates the history of one of NSW's most significant local mines. Its focus is on the Richmond Main Colliery, the Brown family and John Brown who established the mine, and the union/social history associated with the mine from its inception in the early 1900s to 1967 when it closed. The buildings on the site give the park a unique atmosphere and are in varying states of preservation. The Richmond Vale Railway Museum is also on site and offers regular steam train rides from Richmond Main to Pelaw MainThe museum is a display on the history of the Richmond Main Colliery....
Museum is situated in the historic railway station dated 1883. Centre of Nyngan, on the Mitchell Highway, group visit, ex. School's various clubs, meeting place. Audio system's with pioneer tapes. Video on 1990 flood. Reading machine with old local paper dated from 1898 to 1994. Girilambone copper mines display, of types of ore and working. Barber shop. Bob Giddy from 1904. 1969 flood photo and history.History of Nyngan in writing. Photographs, 2 audio, room, tape record.
Emmaville mining museum has been an extensive collection of minerals and gems from the Emmaville area and around the world. It also contains the world reknown Curnow collectionTh Curnow Collection is the bulk of our collection, which is made up of mineral specimens and photographs. There is also a Chinese element to our museum.
An open air museum, consisiting of a former coal mine site and three kilometres of associated railway structure. An authentic coal mining site, interpreting coal mining histoy within a context of mining ans associated industries.Artefacts related to the industrial history of the NSW Western Coal fields, including coal mining, support industries, steel making and rail transport.
Bundanoon History Group Inc has a collection relevant to Bundanoon dating from 1862. The display is constantly rotated between the stack and display room. The collection contains photos, newspaper articles, essays and letters - of particular interest are those of Jordan's Crossing.The collection is mainly paper records: both text and photographs. There are photographs of schools and school children, class rolls covering almost 150 years of a village where agriculture, timber and coal industries flourished. Contemporary information is also collected.
This is a rural museum which tries to preserve a way of life from early settlement. A collection of early farm machinery, tractors, wool presses, blacksmithing tools, picture show projectors and dairy equipment is on display. Corn threshing by machine and by hand is demonstrated on open day, as well as rope making and spinning.300 documents, 200 photographs, 100 farm machines, 20 Aboriginal artefacts
The museum is situated in ten hectares of parkland and houses a vast display of mining era memorabilia: housing, dairy display, mining equipment etc. It also features a railway museum and a light horse museum. The winding engine operates under steam a minimum of four times a year.Over 4,000 items
The Winton and District Historical Society have operated the Qantilda Museum since 1972. The members of the society are volunteers who donate their time to help educate people about the pioneers who built the outback. During the 28 year existence of the historical society a huge collection of outback memorabilia and artworks have been accumulated, documented and set out in such a way as to educate people on the livelihood of the aboriginal inhabitants and, the livelihood of the districts settlers and their descendants. A reading room, which is frequently updated, provides an immense...
The Zara Clarke Museum is housed in a late nineteenth century commercial building of size and scale unusual in Queensland country towns. The museum contains items pertaining to the history of Charters Towers. The large collection includes early transport vehicles, documents and domestic items.

The Gift Shop and office of the Charters Towers Branch of the National Trust of Queensland are also located in the Zara Clarke Museum.

Pages