Mines and Mining

Housed in the former Moe Court House, this collection consists of items of local interest including books, papers and photographs concerning the history of Moe District. Extensive collections relating to gold mining, coal mining, electricity generation, agriculture and timber milling are held.Estimated 1200 photographs and 600 documents, plus 500 items and specimens

The Museum's Aboriginal name translates as "home of yesterday". It is housed in a bluestone and brick building built in 1874. Displays, including many photographs, dressed models, clothing and farm machinery, reflect the gold mining rush of 1856. The Mooney and Charles Best collections of Aboriginal artefacts are also featured, the Mooney collection being on loan from the City of Ararat.Approximately 4000 items, plus 1000 photographs

This family and local history Resource Centre has an extensive indexed collection relating to local people, places, events and topics along with family history files, birth and marriage certificates and photographs.Over 80,000 index cards listing information on local identities, businesses, towns etc. Approx. 1000 photographs of local people and places. Local church records, school registers, cemeteries, inquests.
This mine ceased productive operations in 1954, but has now been restored to an operational level and developed as a living museum. Interactive displays include related machinery and miners' facilities. Machinery operations can be observed and visitors can join tours of the mine, which is 61 metres underground.estimate 2000 items, plus 2000 photographs
Louis Michel was the first person to discover gold in Australia. He did so in Anderson Creek, Warrandyte. Many famous artists have lived and worked here, many noted potters and craftsmen have lived and died here. The area has survived severe droughts, floods and raging fires. There has always been and always will be a good sense of community spirit in Warrandyte.Over 1000 photographs and a significant collection of archival materials, plus a modest collection of artefacts relating to gold mining and associated industries. Also artefacts from the indigenous culture and our artistic past.
The Clunes Museum is an historic building (1860) in the main street of Clunes which houses a collection of memorabilia from Victoria's first gold town. Displays include agricultural, gold, coins and cultural themes. Reception has a shop where local crafts, souvenirs and local history books are on sale. A research section offers a wide range of records dating back to the early 1860's. The Clunes Museum is run by volunteers. The Clunes Museum is accredited by MAP.The major strengths of the collection of 2,500 objects are photographs and items pertaining to gold mining, agriculture, industry,...
In 1964 this historic building (c.1859) was converted into a museum. It had initially been the Maldon market, and then served as the shire hall and council chambers for a century. Its collection includes relics of the mining era, photographs, gowns, needlework and a unique Miners' Association banner (1882). Genealogy research is also available.Approximately 2000 specimens, 2000 photographs
These authentic gold diggings date from the 1850s to the 1930s and are classified by the National Trust of Australia(Vic). On the property there is a considerable variety of mining remains including small vertical and underlay shafts, adits, open cut mines, quarries, bank sluicing, surfacing, dams, water races, a miner's cottage, blacksmiths shop foundations, house and battery sites which display many of the facets of small to medium scale mining. These relics are located on the most productive part of the Fryers Creek goldfield. Visitors are conveyed by tractor train through regenerated...
The Museum opened in 1984 in the former Primitive Church. The Church is an 1870 blustone building which is part of the historic government precinct of the town. It contains many historic buildings which feature in photo displays in the museum. The museum has a collection of documents, photographs, school, cemetery and Amherst hospital records and artefacts presenting the history of the pioneers and early settlers of the district.The collection includes over 600 photographs, a large collection of historic records relating to schools, local government, local families, hospitals and a wide range...
Housed in an old ANA lodge the collection has proved useful to those studying local and family histories. A feature of the Centre are displays depicting the histories of the granite quarries and apple orchards of the area. Books on the local history are available for purchase.
The Firelight Museum is located 10 minutes (9km) North from Leongatha. The Tudor style building also features other changing displays. It is set in a park with a playground and barbecue facilities.On display at the Firelight Museum is a fascinating collection of antique lamps (1860 - 1940), coins, pocket watches (1803 onwards), jewellery and firearms (1560-1935).
Scienceworks is a dynamic interactive science and technology museum combining the newly built Melbourne Planetarium. Scienceworks encourages visitors to 'Get A Grasp of Science and Technology' by creating a range of interactive experiences that are enjoyable and educational through its range of high quality programs, services and facilities offered. This venue also features Melbourne's magnificent nineteenth century sewage pumping station.50,000 objects plus 200,000 two-dimensional items
Housed in the old woodend Court House, the Resource Centre caters for local and family history inquiries. The collection is accessed by computers and a master file by over 100,000 cards. Microfilm, microfiche records, audio tapes and transcripts, school and cemetery records, photographs, rate books etc, make up the collectionEstimated 100,000 references and catalogued items
This historic hotel/boarding house (built 1876) houses a collection of furniture, crockery, glassware, gowns, and napery, library, war memoranda, saddlery, pictures, photographs, family histories, carriages, farm machinery, tools etc. The first National Bank built in nearby Longwood (1886) has been resited in the grounds of the museum.Approximately 14 rooms of exhibits, annexe, machinery shed and National Bank, Eliza Furlonge Cottage
Housed in the Old School Building (c1870), the El Dorado Museum includes a collection of domestic items, mining relics, memorabilia, farming machinery and tools of trade. Photographs show the development of mining in the area. Members of the Trust are available to meet and provide information to tour buses and school groups at the Gold Dredge.Estimate 3 school rooms and several thousand items, plus large shed of carriages and farming machinery, including a blacksmith shop
The collection includes local photographs and mining equipment, firearms, gold nugget replicas and genealogical recordsEstimated 70 firearms and 20 gold nugget replicas amongst a total of 10,000 items
The Stawley Athenaeum and Library is an historical brick building, of Main Hall and Back Room, erected in 1874. The main Hall of the building houses the Library collection of books which deal with all types of subjects. The books are housed in shelves around walls of building. A collection of early photographs of Stawley also on display. Library contains assorted historic library tables and other period furniture. The building is classified by the National Trust of Australia, and is entered on the Australian Heritage Register. The Building is used for Public meetings and functions. The...
The Nillumbik Historical Society's aim is to collect and preserve historical documents, articles and historic sites. The society's headquarters is a stone farmers cottage erected in 1865, which it operates as a museum and storage centre. The Society's collection includes some 1800 historic photos, in most cases accompanied with a slide and a negative, biographies of 90 local families and institutions, and artefacts and memorabilia.
A tem of speakers visit schools and local interest groups. Displays of historic photographs are mounted as requested. Because Diamond Creek was a gold mining...
The Kyneton Museum collection is housed in a group of buildings, the most substantial of which was built in 1856 from local bluestone for the infant Bank of New South Wales. The branch was opened to service miners of the region's goldfields. Original outbuildings include kitchens, celler and stables, and these have been augmented by various outbuildings including an original settlers cottage which was relocated here in 1970. The outbuildings house the extensive agricultural display, whilst the kitchen and laundry show authentic household utensils. An original settler's cottage 'Theaden' is...
The Museum collection is housed in the old Esperance Railway Station building. It was officially opened in October 1976 and is staffed entirely by volunteers. Items from the wreckage of Skylab which crashed to earth near Esperance in 1979, a WAGR steam locomotive, exhibits from Sir Douglas Mawson's Antarctic expedition, a large agricultural machinery display, items from shipwrecks and items from early settlements make up a fascinating collection of exhibits. Restoration, accession, database, archival and display programmes are carried out.Estimated 4,000 items. Physical and documentary...

Pages