Prisons or Convicts

The Town is on a 20 acre site which houses ninety buildings laid out in an old town setting. It includes eleven streets, a railway line with fourteen carriages and a station. The shops, houses and public building are furnished from 1880 to 1950. Visitors feel they have stepped into the past from the present day.
This 1860s Police Station and Courthouse complex are fine examples of colonial stonemasons' workmanship. The stonework consist of fieldstones (office), bluestone (courthouse), limestone and shingled stables, complete with blinden for windows. The cells have keyed in stonework roofs. Quoins and dressings are of sandstone. The collection consists of memorabilia of former Police Station use; C.J. Dennis ("The Sentimental Bloke" poet); and J. Mellor, stonemason; as well as historic photographs and general archival material.
In a picturesque setting at the top of High Street in historic Willunga, the Courthouse complex stands on the original Government Reserve where, in 1839, police and surveyors arrived to help the first settlers take up the land. Displaced Aboriginals camped here and received rations. Today's visitors experience the authentic C19th Courtroom (complete with prisoner's box, jury box and witness box), adjoining cells and exercise yard, attached police residence and nearby stables. Past deeds and misdeeds are vividly brought to life - the heroism of the mounted constables, the controversial female...
Former customs and station master's house built in 1866/67 of Georgian style architecture. Four furnished rooms containing historical documents, photographs, pictures, portraits, displays, furniture and furnishings relevant to the early history of the area and its association with an overseas port and latterly with the railways. Shop with National Trust items, books, crafts, jams, souvenirs. The new Encounter Coast Discovery Centre houses a living display of the history of the Encounter Coast area from 1800 to 1900, with fascinating artefacts and audio narrative.
Wheel righting, forge welding and blacksmithing were undertaken in this workshop by the Excell family. The workshop is complete in its original state from the 1905 and 1935 era. Objects in the workshop include an original D.C welder, forge, wheelwright section, upsetting machine, and the Brattenizing Plough, patented and built by Excell in Tumby Bay and widely used in South Australia.200 items
The complex is comprised of a stone courthouse, police station, police horse stables and original lock-up. Established in 1848, it played an important role in the development of the district. Exhibitions are also displayed in two modern buildings on site.The early police and judiciary are the main themes of our museum exhibition, supported by displays dealing with early settlement in the area. We also have extensive historic photographic and paper (documents etc) collections.
Highfield is historically significant for its association with the Van Diemen's Land Company, which was responsible for the settlement of Northwest Tasmania. Highfield was the original headquarters of the Company's operations. The buildings surviving there today were built between 1828 and the early 1840s. At present some of the buildings are being restored. The house is open for inspection and visitors can inspect the restoration works on site during daylight hours.
The most infamous convict station in Van Diemen's Land was built on this small rainforest island and operated from 1822 to 1833 and then again in 1846 and 1847 as a probation station. Many of the ruins can still be seen and restoration and stabilisation work has been carried out there in recent years.15 interpretive signs, 6 major ruins
A photographic museum commemorating the life and work of prominent Hobart photographer John Watt Beattie. It contains black and white photographs of Tasmania between 1890 and 1930.3,000 photographs and corresponding negatives
Port Arthur Historic Site is the pre-eminent symbol and most outstanding example of Australia's convict system.

Port Arthur exerted great cultural influence within Tasmania and throughout Australia as the focal point of a large-scale penal and industrial enterprise which encompassed the entire Tasman Peninsula and Southern Tasmania.

In its peak Port Arthur was the second largest penal system settlement in Australia and was often referred to as 'hell on earth'.

Today, PAHS encompasses over 40 hectares and features more than 30 restored buildings, ruins and...
Australia's oldest existing colonial gaol in original preservation offers the only surviving example of female solitary confinement cells in Tasmania and an extensive collection of convict relics. It includes men's solitary confinement cells, chain gang holding rooms, a flogging yard, privy, female cells and gaoler's house. Displayed documents describe the gaol's use until it was closed in 1928, highlighting the exploits of its most colourful prisoners (eg Martin Cash, Ikey Solomon).approximately 100 convict relics, plus documents
The Centre houses a sheep and wool exhibition which traces the evolution of the industry and includes a touch and feel display of different types and microns of wool. It also contains a History Museum, which highlights the development of Ross and the region over the past 180 years. Special features of the collection include replica icons of the Ross convict built bridge (circa 1836), beautifully hand carved by convict stonemason Daniel Herbert; and an Australian merino wool tapestry depicting the tree of life, by James Coburn.
The Pilot Station was est. in 1805, the oldest building on site was convict built in 1835 of blue stone rubble walls and convict handmade brick interior, this accommodated 4 pilots and their families and now houses the Maritime Museum, research centre & archives and the Sir Raymond Ferrall Gallery. The other dwellings house visitor accommodation and the Pilot Station crew.Maritime & communication memorabilia, diving suit & air pump, 9 lb cannon, whaling artifacts, items recovered from shipwrecks, signal flags, signal lanterns oil and electric, rope and knot display convict...
The Archives Office of Tasmania, established through the provisions of the Archives Act 1983 (and previous archival legislation) is the repository for all Tasmanian government records which are no longer of immediate administrative use but which are considered worthy of permanent or long-term preservation. It is currently administratively linked to the Department of Education.The Archives Office holds many thousands of linear metres of records, the vast majority of which are those of State and local government agencies.

The statutory definition of 'records' is extremely wide,...
The Cygnet Living History Museum is a central display area and archive for the information, photographs and artefacts pertaining to the history of the Cygnet region and the wider Hvon. Information is being constantly researched and added to the Museum's collection. Visual displays which change quarterly, are used by the museum to highlight topics of the area's unique local history. Past displays have included settlement and establishment of the region, family histories, historic buildings, wooden boat building, timber and other industries, festivals, probation stations and the convict era....
The "Old Court House" was built in 1938 and was used as a Court of Petty Sessions until the 1970's and for Council meetings until 1993. The Bruny History Collection was established in 1988 and the History Room opened in 1997. The History Room provides a venue for the community and visiting public to peruse information on Bruny Island's history with subjects arranged in alphabetical order including Aboriginal History, Convicts, Family Trees, Industries, schools, Wars and many others.The collection contains items of yesteryear, local community archival records and photographs...
The museum has been developed solely by volunteers and is wholly independent in that it does not solicit private or government funding. The site is situated very near to the first British settlement of Tasmania at Disdon Cove (1803). The immediate environment is the oldest settled area in Tasmania.The collection consists of documents and pictorial displays. The information has been mounted against a native fauna and flora painted background indicative of the type found in the area in 1803.
The Museum holds the most recognised snow-ski collection in Australia. Local artefacts include costumes, a carriage shed, a slab pioneer cottage, a dairy and the Old Corryong Gaol, Police station and restored School and Bank, Blacksmiths.

The Museum's Aboriginal name translates as "home of yesterday". It is housed in a bluestone and brick building built in 1874. Displays, including many photographs, dressed models, clothing and farm machinery, reflect the gold mining rush of 1856. The Mooney and Charles Best collections of Aboriginal artefacts are also featured, the Mooney collection being on loan from the City of Ararat.Approximately 4000 items, plus 1000 photographs

Melbourne Museum aims to inform and inspire visitors.

Melbourne Museum stands adjacent to the historic Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton Gardens. Together, they constitute the largest museum complex in the Southern Hemisphere.

Melbourne Museum uses the latest technology and interpretation methods to present educational exhibitions and programs on science and technology, indigenous cultures, the environment, the human mind and body and Australian society.

National icons on display include Phar Lap, Australia's greatest ever racehorse, and CSIRAC (...

Pages