Natural Sciences

Located in National Triangle, minutes from the city and other major attractions. Australia's largest interactive science centre with over 200 hands-on exhibits. Specifically catering for families and offers good value for money. Spend a couple of hours or an entire day. Free parking.6 large galleries with themed exhibitions that are constantly changing to keep up-to-date with current topics. All exhibits are hands-on and have a strong educational focus.
The National Dinosaur Museum focuses on the Earth's Prehistoric past and interpretation of the fossil record. The museum is home to the largest display of dinosaur material in Australia and a recipient of an Australian Tourism Award for Significant Region Attraction in 1997. The display centres on life during the Mesozoic Era, 251 to 65 million years ago - when Dinosaurs ruled the Earth. As a supplement there are also exhibits depicting life both before and after that time; depicting the astonishing variety of prehistoric life on Earth. Major dinosaur groups, Australian dinosaurs, marine...
The first trees at the gardens were planted in 1945. After a period of rapid development in the 1960s, the gardens were opened to the public in 1967. The gardens occupy about 40 hectares on Black Mountain and include a herbarium.
The herbarium houses a large collection of pressed, dried plant specimens which are used for scientific research and as a reference for the identification of plants, including those growing at the gardens. The herbarium is not open to the public, except during special events.
The gardens are also involved in research into the botany, biology and...
A 1901 Federation style house and attached annexe, furnished in pre-1900 period. The annexe houses the Society's local and family history section. This includes photographs, a local library and all Grafton newspapers since 1859. The collection also includes local artefacts, memorabilia and documentation of early Grafton.Estimated 5,000 items and 10,000 photographs, plus 800 local history reference books in the library
The entry to the Lachlan Historical Village is the Trigilana Wool Shed. After crossing a suspension bridge, visitors can view the fifty five buildings which comprise the village, including stores, authentic homesteads, a bank, a school, the gaol and a gold mining area. Special features include Henry Lawson's childhood home, the home of bushranger Ben Hall and a medical hall with a collection of over 2,000 apothecary items.20,000 items, 500 photographs
This Museum looks at the expedition of Count Laperouse through the Pacific between 1787-1788. The collection contains objects from Laperouse wrecks and generic navigational and maritime history. The Museum also has a growing local history collection.300 objects, 30 prints, 50 photographs (est)
The Colonial Inn Museum is located in the old West End Hotel built in 1856, and licensed as a hotel until 1923. It is a two storey building featuring wrought iron lace and pillars manufactured in a Mudgee iron foundry. Some displays have been developed around the building's early usage (eg the bar, parlour, kitchen and a bedroom). There is also an extensive display of farm machinery and horsedrawn vehicles, and general displays of items from Mudgee's past. Family history research is also available.8,000 items
Rouse Hill estate is one of Australia's most culturally important historic properties, not only for its artefacts, furnishings, buildings
and gardens, but also because it is the most complete document of continuous family occupancy of a country house in New South Wales. Rouse Hill House is set on a 16 hectare rural property with stables, barn, piggery, slaughterhouse, woolshed and other farm buildings. The main house was constructed from 1813-18 and contents from the original family's occupancy to the present day remain intact.Estimated 250,000 objects of domestic and rural life from...
The Museum features a broad cross-section of photographs, text and memorabilia related to the cultural and natural history of Lord Howe Island from it's discovery in 1788 onwards.
A large 24 room folk museum established in the old Glen Innes Hospital. Land of the Beardies houses a very wide and representative collection of objects, artefacts and documents dating back to early settlement in the 1840s. It also provides an outside machinery exhibit and an archive and research centre with over 200,000 references.Over 10,000 items
The collection was given to the University of Sydney in 1887 by Sir William John Macleay, and incorporated the natural history and ethnographic collections of three members of the Macleay family. The collections are still of considerable research interest and great historical significance, and have been expanded to include historic scientific instruments and historic photographs. The museum has many nineteenth century features including elegant cedar display cases and an atmosphere of great charm and aesthetic appeal. Temporary exhibitions complement the permanent displays.700,000 insects...
The policy of the museum is to collect items relating to Paterson and the district - The collection is housed in the former Paterson Court House (1858-63) Fully restored externally and set in well maintained grounds. We extend country hospitality which complements the well accredited museum.The history of Paterson and District covering indigenous, white settlement, convict times to district development to present day in a relaxing well presented atmosphere.
Elizabeth Bay House was constructed from 1835-1839, under the supervision of N.S.W based architects John Verge and John Bibb, from plans obtained from an unidentified English source for Alexander Macleay, Colonial Secretary of N.S.W 1826-1837 and his wife, Eliza. The house was intended to be the finest house in the colony. It was built within a celebrated landscape garden which was developed from 1826 onwards. Today the interiors of Elizabeth Bay house have been carefully reconstructed to the 1839-1845 period. Appropriate furniture, wallpaper, carpets, soft furnishings and fittings...
Visitors can explore all aspects of Cobar's unique industrial, pastoral, Aboriginal and social history during a visit to the centre. Displays are housed in the Great Cobar Copper Mine's magnificent administration building erected in 1910. Interpretive signs outside guide visitors through the grounds and an amazing collection of mining and transport artefacts, and on to the surrounding heritage areas.20,000 objects relating to the social, mining, pastoral and Aboriginal history of the Cobar district, ranging from large transport to fine instruments. Includes over 3,000 photographs and 50 art...
The Australian Museum, established in 1827, was Australia's first museum. It holds unique and extensive collections of natural science and cultural artefacts. Extensive programs in research, education and exhibitions reflect the museum's focus on biodiversity and environmental issues, Australian fauna, evolution, the geological past, the cultural heritage of Aboriginal Australians and the peoples of the near Pacific and Indonesia, and the cultural diversity of the Australian population.Biological collections (Mammals, Birds, Reptiles, Amphibians, Fishes, Insects, Arachnids, Molluscs, Marine...
The Crystal Kingdom when established in 1974, was the first mineral museum in Australia to display minerals and fossils from the one locality only, the Warrumbungle Range. This concept is still adhered today. As more discoveries are made, these are added to the collection.Our collection of local minerals and fossils, "The minerals of the Warrumbungles", contains some of the most colourful and rare zeolite crystals in the world. The large variety of shapes and combinations of the local zeolite crystals makes this collection one of the best of its kind in the world.
Museum is part of the Visitors Centre. Montague Island is 7km (5.7 Nautical Miles) off Narooma, and is the largest inshore island on the NSW coast. It is now a nature reserve under control of NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and is home to the largest sea bird/penguin colonies also possibly the most northerly bull seal "haul out" site of the NSW coast. Montague Island was discovered by the convict transport ship "Surprise" in 1790 and named after George Montague Dunk, Earl of Halifax. Because of its location and importance to shipping, the Government of the day...
Over the past three decades, the department of Biological Sciences has established an impressive teaching collection of zoological specimens and other objects. The Biological Sciences Museum is dedicated to the preservation and curation of this collection. Most exhibits are concerned with the unique Australian native flora and fauna. While these exhibits cover a wide range of topics, they always return to the common theme of evolution, biodiversity and conservation of Australian wildlife.The collection contains some 10, 000 objects. The collection looks at corals and shells, insects, reptiles...
The Zoology Museum is housed in the Department of Zoology and holds collections of vertebrate and invertebrate animals which are used in teaching, research and public education programs. First started in 1911, the collection has grown to accommodate in excess of 20,000 specimens.Over 20,000 specimens
The museum represents the social and natural history of Eumundi through displays and historical documentation. The museum has digitised it's photographic collection and provides access to these images through a computer situated within the museum. Further records are added regularly. The museum is situated in the former Methodist church, built in 1911.300 objects, 200 natural history specimens, 2 500 photographs. The Eumundi Historical Museum contains social history collections, family history documentation, a comprehensive natural history collection and an extensive collection of historical...

Pages