Decorative Arts

Global Arts Link (GAL) is Ipswich's dynamic, world-class art gallery and social history museum in the city's beautifully restored, heritage listed old town hall. GAL presents a range of visual arts exhibitions with entertaining and educational interpretation. Explore Ipswich's history in the Time Machine, world-class art in the CS Energy Gallery. Entertain the kids the in the Energex Children's Gallery - Lottie's Place, meet our Indigenous inhabitants in Making Tracks or just chill out in the Seven News Global Lounge. GAL offers something for yound and old, for the art enthusiast to the...
The Museum is housed in the old police station built 1858 and the court room built 1867, opened in 1974. Main display in the court room is of the settlement and growth of the town from 1840 to circa 1940. Remaining rooms which house historical displays are the sitting room, kitchen, bedroom, nursery, and laundry. Outside are the original cells, stables and static displays of old farm machinery, horse drawn vehicles and 1880s shearing plant.Approximately 5,000 items, 2,000 photographs of local significance. Cottage crafts, craft, decorative arts, furniture, glass, paper, domestic items and...
Urrbrae House was built in 1890 for Mr Peter Waite by the Adelaide architect Charles Howard Marriott. It was the first house in Adelaide to have red roof tiles, and electric lighting, and it also had an extensive refrigeration plant. The house and grounds are available for public inspection. A museum which outlines the history of the Waite Institute is also being developed nearby.150,000 items including artefacts, photographs and archives
The gallery displays a collection of paintings by local artist's in varying mediums depicting subjects and local scenes of the Fleurieu Peninsula. The gallery is housed in a refurbished building, once a bakery, in a heritage area of what was once known as Port Victor.50-100 items
Old Government House is situated in Belair National Park, South Australia's oldest National Park, 12 kms from Adelaide C.B.D. Its building - a main building and detached kitchen with servants accommodation - date from the 1850s and were built for the first vice-regal summer retreat in South Australia. Full restoration took place in the 1970s as a fully furnished Victorian gentleman's country retreat; turreted colonial - Georgian in style, surrounded by extensive tiled terracing. Each room reflects its original function - wide entrance hall, manly study, gracious dining room with drawing area...
The home was built for William Moyle, a Cornwall engineer who operated the adjacent cordial factory and public baths. It is made of local stone with ironwork and illustrates turn of the century well-to-do living. The house is heritage listed and displays a wide range of collections, including period costumes, stained glass, furniture, household appliances, and a doll display. A brochure is available which provides fuller details.Thousands of artefacts including 1,000 pair of salt and pepper shakers, 2,500 dolls, 600 teddy bears
The Museum is in the former Railway Station, built in 1885, and adjacent goods shed; it was opened in 1971 the centenary year of Jamestown and district. Items in the Museum Collection have been donated by the local people & they all recall a past way of life. The display highlights people and events unique to Jamestown local people expect the museum to be the custodians of archival items donated by them, so the collection has changed as we have noticed an increasing interest in local and family history.The Museum has a diverse collection of household items and other things connected to...
The Riddoch Art Gallery is South Australia's only publicly-funded and professionally-staffed regional gallery. It is named in honour of grazier and Philanthropist, John Riddoch, who donated the original collection of early Australian and British works. The focus of the collection is post 1960s Australian art and includes paintings, photographs, graphics, works on paper, textiles, sculpture installations and craftworks. Specialist collections include the Rodney Gooch Collection of Aboriginal art, comprising of over 200 artworks including works by Emily Kame Kngwarreye and paintings,...
The Museum has been developed in the old One Tree Hill School building, c1854 (previously Uleybury School) as a classroom containing educational furniture and material through the years. There is also a craft shed with displays of children's art/craft. The Museum can be used by schools to show children what schools and teaching were like in the past.photographs and educational specimens
Established in 1881, the Art Gallery of South Australia houses the state's collection of Australian, European and Asian Art. In addition to the collection displays, the gallery hosts a regular program of temporary exhibitions, public talks and children's activities.40,000 plus items
A specially built building, with air conditioning and special lighting with a display area, office area and store roomThe museum holds collections and displays of period costume and accessories dating 1870s to 1980s - All authentic there is a collection of old books including The Girls Own Annual, The Leisure Hour, fashion Journals with original paper patterns 1906 to 1965, nearly complete and many other useful resource books for students.
Based in the Adelaide Central School of Art, Adelaide Central Gallery began in 1987 as an artist-run exhibition space. Its programme includes the work of well known and emerging artists in all media from both Adelaide and interstate. The exhibitions are managed by a gallery director. Exhibiting painters, sculptors, printmakers, craftspeople and photographers give informal lectures in the gallery on a regular basis. These sessions provide unique insights, especially for students, into the development of an artist's life and work.
A collection of contemporary Australian art dispersed throughout the University buildings. There is no Gallery area exclusively for the collection.Art paintings, art photographs, contemporary art, decorative arts, drawings and prints, glass, pottery and ceramic, sculpture, textiles and weaving. Approximately 1800 objects
Located in the town of Franklin Village, the original house museum was opened by the National Trust in 1961. Built in 1838, Franklin House is a charming Georgian residence and a good example of the period, with authentic furnishings and pictures. It includes a schoolroom which functioned from 1842 to the 1880s. An outstanding feature of the interior is the NSW cedar hardwood. It is now the State Headquarters of the National Trust in Tasmania.
The Grove is a privately owned house museum. It is a Georgian stone residence, set up as a working home with tearooms and reception. It is George Town's most imposing early building which is believed to have been built circa 1830. It contains an interesting collection of furniture and antiques.300 major items plus many minor items
Operated by the Glenorchy City Council, the Centre provides a large exhibition space. It also offers workshop facilities for community groups and artists.
The Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts is one of the State Library of Tasmania's heritage collections. It contains a collection of 18th and 19th century furniture, colonial paintings, silver and objets d'art, fine china and rare and antique books. The collection was left to the people of Tasmania by the late Henry Allport, a Hobart solicitor, and is housed on the ground floor of the State Library of Tasmania.7,000 books and manuscripts, 3,000 artworks, 2,000 photographs, approx 1,000 objects
Runnymede an 1840's sandstone Regency villa surrounded by elegant lawns and gardens, focuses on aspects of Southern Tasmania's history. Today, as a house museum, it makes a strong statement about domestic life in the colony in the 1860's. It depicts the home environment of successful business and professional people, rather than that of the very rich. Through the three families who lived there over 120 years, Runnymede has close links with widely separate aspects of the colony's history. First, Scottish-born lawyer Robert Pitcairn, who played a part in the demise of convict transportation,...
Tasmania's state museum and art gallery established in the 1840s as the museum of the Royal Society of Tasmania. The buildings and site are of historical significance and include the first purpose built museum building dated 1863, the Commissariat Store 1808, the Cottage c1810 converted 1828, the Bond Store and Court Yard and Gateway 1823, the Queen's warehouse 1874, Art Gallery 1901, Custom House 1901 and extension of 1966 and 1986. The collections include Natural Sciences (Zoology, Botany, Geology), Applied Science, Humanities (Art, Decorative Arts, Costume, Social History, Indigenous...
Woolmers is of outstanding cultural significance because it has continuous association with the one family (Thomas Archer and his descendants), providing and encapsulated record of six generations of the family and the changes to their lifestyle, from the time the land was first settled in the Longford area, to the death of the last heir in 1994. It is the longest association in Tasmania. Woolmers has small museum status.Apart from the original house (1819) and the new additions in 1840's. The Extant outbuildings, workshop, cottages plant and artefacts are a unique record of the scale of...

Pages