Barwon

The Learmonth Old Shire Hall houses a local history collection of photographs, maps and newspapers pertaining to the former shire of Ballarat. Of particular interest is the photographic collection depicting early Councillors.Approximately 500 photographs
The Golden City Paddle Steamer is the only remaining paddle steamer of 15 which used to operate on Ballarat's Lake Wendouree. The Golden City now operates on a regular basis during summer or can be hired by groups on request. The vessel is moored at Gill's Boatshed. The boatshed has been...

The museum is accredited under the Victorian Museum Accreditation Program. It operates the original Ballarat Vintage Tramway system within the Botanical Gardens Reserve. Its aims are to conserve, display and maintain the various tramway artifacts in order to create a living reminder of Ballarat'...

The Society's collection is housed in the Ballan Court House. Built in 1873 and closed in 1983, the Court House was re-opened in 1990 as a local history record and resource centre. The collection consists of books, documents and photographs relevant to the Ballan Shire (1838 to the present day)....
Constructed in 1857 when the Bellarine Peninsula was an important grain growing area, this Mill was one of the first to use steam power. When it closed in 1874 the machinery was sent to the Wimmera. The building now houses pioneer and militaria artefacts.5000 objects
A historic bluestone wool store (1872) houses this Museum, which depicts the story of wool in Australia. Themes explore wool in the contexts of agriculture, textiles, manufacturing, science and technology, arts, craft, literature and history. Of special interest are the Axminister Jacquard carpet...
Buninyong is one of Victoria;s oldest communities, pre-dating gold discovery in 1851. Many historic buildings remain in this heritage township, and the historical society maintains three of these - the 1858 former courthouse, the 1884 courthouse (now the History Centre) and the 1860 Old Library....
A comprehensive and fascinating collection of early photographs, maps, collectables, historic documents, (including Camperdown Chronicles), artefacts and memorabilia.
Steiglitz Court House is partially restored with internal furnishings. It features displays on the early gold mining history and pastoral history of the region, including interpretive and historic photos. Information is also provided on Steiglitz Historic Park and the Brisbane Ranges National...

The former Drysdale Court House (1880) presently houses a local history collection, index of family histories of the peninsula, pioneer index, index of arrivals by ship at Port Henry, court house furnishings, shire honour boards and plaques, cemetery records, early school rolls and agricultural...

Pages