Historic Display

The Australian War Memorial commemorates the sacrifice of Australian men and women who have served in war, through its ceremonial areas, extensive exhibitions and research facilities. The focus of commemoration is the Hall of Memory, together with the Tomb of the Unknown Australian Soldier, the Pool of Reflection and the Roll of Honour that lists the names of over 102,000 Australians who have died in war.

The Memorial is internationally recognised for its exhibitions, that cover over 12,000 square metres, which present stories of Australia's military history from colonial times to...
The Bicycle Museum is situated within the Canberra Tradesmen's Union Club, which has been developed along the philosophy of a living museum and is characterised by its nostalgic charm and friendly atmosphere. The Museum features over 60 old and unusual bicycles on display at any time. Visitors can relax in the Club and have their photos taken on a Penny-farthing.620 bicycles. We collect maintain store and display items showing the technical and historical development of the cycle over the last 150 years. Bicycles, tricycles, tandems, four seaters, clothing, parts, journals and photos.

The Tram Company is part of the Canberra Tradesmen's Union Club, which has been developed along the philosophy of a living museum and is characterised by its nostalgic charm and friendly atmosphere. Ten fully restored Australian trams are incorporated into the club and are used as dining spaces.10 restored trams (not running) from various Australian cities. Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, Launceston.

The largest collection of vintage, veteran, classic and interesting motorcycles open to the public in Australia.Over 170 motorcycles and memorabilia
The building is purpose built as a museum and workshop and sits several acres of gardens. Binalong is a small unspoiled village one hour from Canberra and three hours from Sydney. There is ample car parking at the Museum and facilities for barbecue and picnics. The Museum comprises model steam engines and locomotives and these are usually cars being restored as rebuilt in the workshop. These are sectioned engines showing how motor vehicles engines work.Vintage and classic vehicles. Working workshop as part of museum. European vehicles primarily.
Closed in 1969 as an official teaching establishment, the 1908 weatherboard teacher's residence and one-teacher schoolhouse set in 10 acres of recreation grounds, were restored as a Bicentennial project and the museum was subsequently opened in November 1988. The school site was originally established in 1869. The present school, the second to be built on the site, is fully functional and seats 30 plus primary school age children. Pens, ink, project sheets and teachers' aids are available for use. The school houses a large collection of early kindergarten and primary school text books and...
The museum, which is 100 years old, is weatherboard with a corrugated iron roof. The collection includes the MacCarthur Cloak (c1816), a world wide shell collection, 1000 years of monarchy, snow shoe and wooden skis from Scott's expedition, a pictorial history of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, historic clothing and a Telstra display.Old house full of local history. Farming machinery, war memorabilia, photographs, shells.
The Ballina Branch of the Richmond-Tweed Regional Library holds a collection of items based on the history of Ballina and surrounding districts. It consists of photographs, maps, newspapers, books and ephemeral items such as programs, invitations and leaflets.400 books, 300 photographs, ephemera, maps, newspapers
The Watchouse is an old stone lockup designed by the Government Architect Edmund Blackett and built in 1854. It houses a museum with a permanent display cell on the history of the Balmain peninsula, a photographic collection and a resource centre for local and genealogical inquiries about people, places and events on the peninsula. An exhibition space comprising three cells, the charge room, lobby and part of the former kitchen is available for hire.
The museum, originally the Post Office Hotel, is of slab construction, with a puddled iron roof. Built in 1860, it was occupied continuously until 1970, (as a private home since World War I). The museum is furnished as a private home and features extensive photo and gem-rock collections. Other buildings in the grounds include a school and a blacksmith shop.2,000 items; 2,000 photos; 2,000 gems and minerals
This restored Court House built in 1877 houses a collection of historic photos of Stroud and district. It also displays information on the formation of the Australian Agricultural Company in London in 1824, the farm grant of 500,000 acres on the Port Stephen estate and local and family history.
The entry to the Lachlan Historical Village is the Trigilana Wool Shed. After crossing a suspension bridge, visitors can view the fifty five buildings which comprise the village, including stores, authentic homesteads, a bank, a school, the gaol and a gold mining area. Special features include Henry Lawson's childhood home, the home of bushranger Ben Hall and a medical hall with a collection of over 2,000 apothecary items.20,000 items, 500 photographs
The Building housing museum is over 140 years old, previously RC Church Rawdon Island. Family tree research. Community based historical society. Story of Jimmy Governor, last outlaw of New South Wales walks. Timber and dairying and sugar industries.Local Community Archival Records, Photographs
A diverse collection of artefacts used in the Orara Valley over the last 125 years. The display is housed in two sections attached to the Glenreagh School of Arts, and the staff are well versed in local history.Over 600 items
Mary Boulton's Pioneer Cottage is a replica of an early settlers home with furnishings appropriate to the era. An outside shed displays a buggy, ploughs and farming tools and implements.Approximately 1,000 items
The museum is housed in The Old Narrabri Gaol which is listed on the National Estate Register and classified by the National Trust. Exhibits are mounted in the cells, exercise yards and outbuildings. They consist mainly of historical items associated with life in the town of Narrabri and surrounding district.100,000+ file reference cards to local people, photographs, local newspapers from late 1800s and on microfilm, World War memorabilia, family history records, and burial records.
Sketchley Cottage is a furnished slab cottage which was owned by a convict. A separate museum on the site houses heritage items, machines and a blacksmith shop.500-1,000 items. Emphasis on agricultural items hand made tools, linen and farm machinery
The Wollondilly Heritage Centre is both a Social History Museum of Wollondilly Shire and Burragorang Valley, and Family History Research Centre operated by volunteers from the Oaks Historical Society. The one-acre site includes a furnished timber slab and iron cottage, Bush schoolroom and orcharding exhibit in addition to a diverse program of changing displays and museum shop, and is close to beautiful Burragorang Lookout and scenic drives. Wollondilly Heritage Centre is the winner of The Western Sydney 2003 Tourism Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Heritage and Cultural Tourism.11,800...
Ned Kelly Post Office is the original telegraph office which Ned Kelly and his gang sabotaged in February 1879. The Willows houses local archives and items of farming and local historical significance.500 items
'Addington' is Australia's oldest remaining settlers cottage, pre-dating 1800. The house contains a collection of regional historic memorabilia, particularly memorabilia relating to Boy Scout and Girl Guide activity within the Ryde and surrounding districts.

Pages