Law

The Australian War Memorial commemorates the sacrifice of Australian men and women who have served in war, through its ceremonial areas, extensive exhibitions and research facilities. The focus of commemoration is the Hall of Memory, together with the Tomb of the Unknown Australian Soldier, the Pool of Reflection and the Roll of Honour that lists the names of over 102,000 Australians who have died in war.

The Memorial is internationally recognised for its exhibitions, that cover over 12,000 square metres, which present stories of Australia's military history from colonial times to...
The National Library of Australia is the country's largest library and one of its leading research and reference libraries. As a major cultural institution, the National Library's role is to maintain and develop a national collection of library material to record the documentary heritage of all Australians, and to make those collections available for all Australians to use. The National Library was designed by Sydney architect Walter Bunning. It is situated on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin in Canberra, Australia's National Capital. With Parliament House and the National Gallery of...
This restored Court House built in 1877 houses a collection of historic photos of Stroud and district. It also displays information on the formation of the Australian Agricultural Company in London in 1824, the farm grant of 500,000 acres on the Port Stephen estate and local and family history.
Society of 40 persons dedicated to restoration of 1860's Hargraves Courthouse complex. Large triple solid brick courthouse and living quarters, semi attached via enclosed walkway, vertical iron bark slab kitchen (now fully restored), detached vertical slab laundry and large separate horizontal slab stables building. An 1860's public toilet is expected to be operational later in 2002. Hargraves is the site of the first underground gold mine in Australia, founded 1854.In addition to the buildings described above, the society has amassed a large collection of old photographs depicting the...
The museum inhabits two colonial courthouses and a Police Station built between 1856-1886. It contains the historic NSW Police Museum collection which was established in 1910.Many of the artefacts concern crime, social history, Police, law and popular culture from bongs to batons to Judges wigs and bushrangers' firearms. It also showcases weird and wonderful relics from notorious crimes such as the Shark Arm Murder, the Pyjama Girl Case and the Thorne Kidnapping, as well as many original objects associated with such legendary bushrangers as Frank Gardiner, Ben Hall, Captain Moonlite and...
The Museum focuses on local history and the community culture of Shellharbour City. Collections include; Aboriginal culture, pioneering industries of dairy farming with ancillary industries of coal mining, tanneries and coach building. The centre point of the museum is a bronze bust of Caroline Chisholm, 'The Emigrants Friend', who settled some 23 families to Shellharbour in 1843.
The 2004 exhibition 'The Built Environment of Shellharbour City', will open 24th April, to coincide with The National Trust 'Heritage Festival'. This exhibition will encompass man made structures such as...
The policy of the museum is to collect items relating to Paterson and the district - The collection is housed in the former Paterson Court House (1858-63) Fully restored externally and set in well maintained grounds. We extend country hospitality which complements the well accredited museum.The history of Paterson and District covering indigenous, white settlement, convict times to district development to present day in a relaxing well presented atmosphere.
The building is known as the "Sergeants Residence" and was constructed in about 1871. It adjoins the police complex. The museum contains many aspects of the social life of this area; including an early bedroom, an early dining room, an early kitchen, two rooms depicting aspects of early life in this area, part of the early courthouse, a chemist shop, a hospital room, a blacksmiths shop and an agricultural machinery exhibit.An historical collection of Queanbeyan and district, ranging back well into the 1800's. This collection is strictly applicable to Queanbeyan and district.
In 1841 Berrima Court House was the site of the first trial by jury in Australia. The museum focuses on Australia's colonial history. The discovery of the district by explorers and the reasons for settlement of the region are depicted on a multi-projector, wide-screen audio visual presentation. Highlights of infamous trials that took place at Berrima Court house are also depicted on the audio visual display. Visitors can explore the Court House building which includes the imposing judge's chambers and grand jury room.The grand jury room has displays of early corporal punishment devices and...
The Museum has several displays mounted at all times. The early school and its maps together with a good photographic collection are readily available. The Museum has quite a varied collection of early day household items. Tara's first Court House furniture is on display and outside the building is the original jail and railwagons and an original siding shed.Approximately 2,000 to 2,500 items

Housed in our building are Historical records, photographs and memorabilia of our town and district from early settlement until present day.Photographs, WWII memorabilia, local community historical records, hand sewn articles from 1890 era, local art, local hospital memorabilia. Sporting achievements, telephone exchange and old telephones, plus more.

The museum building was formerly a Scared Heart Convent of the Sisters of Mercy; two story timber 15mts x 25mts, internal walls are stained with tongue and groove crow's ash (1946). Yarraman Railway Station (1913) and Arthur Brown's butcher shop (c.1920). The grounds contain a scrub/rainforest area, farm machinery, plant shade house, water wise garden and unique water tank system from convent days. The total area is 1.2 hectares.The collection started in October 1997. Yarraman Heritage Centre has a wide range of community involvement, manly because of the necessity to attract large fundings...
The Building is of prime importance, a lone survivor in a commercial town. Visitors, national and international can discover the classic wild west adventure saga of our history. Know where they have been - not just what they have seen.Community records, huge photo collection, a new display 1.50m "Battle of the Coral Sea" depicting events and location of US and Australian forces in the area. A pictorial history of Douglas Shire" written by Curator (new) "Reflecting on the past".
In a picturesque setting at the top of High Street in historic Willunga, the Courthouse complex stands on the original Government Reserve where, in 1839, police and surveyors arrived to help the first settlers take up the land. Displaced Aboriginals camped here and received rations. Today's visitors experience the authentic C19th Courtroom (complete with prisoner's box, jury box and witness box), adjoining cells and exercise yard, attached police residence and nearby stables. Past deeds and misdeeds are vividly brought to life - the heroism of the mounted constables, the controversial female...
The Streaky Bay Museum is housed in the old school. It includes the family history of the Campbell family (1864), the Kelsh family (1860) Kelsh pioneer pug and pine cottage, the Freeman family (1856) and Mudge family 1855, as well as machinery dating back to the 1880s.A large collection of great variey. Furniture, household items, farm machinery, historic buildings, horse drawn vehicles, vintage cars and medical artefacts and instruments.. The collection is a source of local history of people and their way of life through the years.
Wheel righting, forge welding and blacksmithing were undertaken in this workshop by the Excell family. The workshop is complete in its original state from the 1905 and 1935 era. Objects in the workshop include an original D.C welder, forge, wheelwright section, upsetting machine, and the Brattenizing Plough, patented and built by Excell in Tumby Bay and widely used in South Australia.200 items
The Museum is in the original Courthouse in Mount Gambier, built in 1865. Many of the original furnishings and fittings still remain, as well as historic photos and interpretive displays. The original courtroom is now used for mock trials. Active participation is encouraged with gowns, wigs and costumes supplied.
The Gumeracha and District History Centre is situated in the Library Complex, Albert Street Gumeracha. Comprising of the whole of the Torrens Valley Ward of the Adelaide Hills Council (formerly Gumeracha Council). Including the townships of Houghton, Inglewood, Hermitage, Cudlee Creek, Chain of Ponds, Millbrook, Kersbrook, Gumeracha, Kenton Valley, Forreston, Birdwood and Mt. Torrens.
The complex is comprised of a stone courthouse, police station, police horse stables and original lock-up. Established in 1848, it played an important role in the development of the district. Exhibitions are also displayed in two modern buildings on site.The early police and judiciary are the main themes of our museum exhibition, supported by displays dealing with early settlement in the area. We also have extensive historic photographic and paper (documents etc) collections.
The Archives Office of Tasmania, established through the provisions of the Archives Act 1983 (and previous archival legislation) is the repository for all Tasmanian government records which are no longer of immediate administrative use but which are considered worthy of permanent or long-term preservation. It is currently administratively linked to the Department of Education.The Archives Office holds many thousands of linear metres of records, the vast majority of which are those of State and local government agencies.

The statutory definition of 'records' is extremely wide,...

Pages