Yarraman Heritage Centre

Yarraman Heritage Centre

The museum building was formerly a Scared Heart Convent of the Sisters of Mercy; two story timber 15mts x 25mts, internal walls are stained with tongue and groove crow's ash (1946). Yarraman Railway Station (1913) and Arthur Brown's butcher shop (c.1920). The grounds contain a scrub/rainforest area, farm machinery, plant shade house, water wise garden and unique water tank system from convent days. The total area is 1.2 hectares.

Tel: 
0741638111
Hours: 
9am-3pm Mon -Fri, Weekends by appointment
Admission: 
$3.50 Adult, $1 Child
Facilities: 
Museum, art gallery, craft shop, convention centre, restaurant, book exchange, nursery, guided tours, brochure available, Landcare information Centre, social club.
Collection: 
The collection started in October 1997. Yarraman Heritage Centre has a wide range of community involvement, manly because of the necessity to attract large fundings to maintain the buildings that we have. We discretely display historic items in our buildings, we do not clutter or have variable displays.
Share

Items

Butcher Shop and Shade House

Arthur Brown

Arthur Brown
Description:
8mx4.5m Timber building with adjoining shade house and plant nursery. The shop contains memorabilia from the butchering trade and the farming and grazing industries.
Date:
1912-1920

The building was originally sited on the corner of Cheadle & Watson Streets Yarraman - ours is the fourth site for this building.

Yarraman Railway Station

Creator:
QLD Railways
Description:
5mx13m, timber building - 3 rooms( Station Master/Freight Office, Ticket/ Waiting, Baggage/Storeroom)plus platform and 20 metre track.
Date:
1913

The railway station contains rail memorabilia

Building

Sacred Heart boys Boarding Convent (1944-45)

Sacred Heart boys Boarding Convent (1944-45)
Creator:
Sister's of Mercy
Description:
Timber construction -unique example of local timbers. Terracotta tiled roof and awnings, water tank system.

This building was built with government and local community support. Housed up to 28 boy boarders. A purpose built building which could have housed large numbers of people in the event of a war emergency. Given to the aboriginal community in 1988. Lack of financial support saw it sold to the Yarraman Community in 1997

Press Clipping Collection

WWII Press Collection

Creator:
Jane Mathews - Margaret St Yarraman
Description:
Collection of newspaper clippings from every paper the collector could obtain during WWII
Date:
1939-1945

Available to the public for inspection in the war/rail museum section.

Furniture

Yarraman Courthouse Furniture

Creator:
Qld Government
Description:
Magistrate's bench, witness box, prisoners dock
Date:
1920

original furniture of Yarraman Courthouse now closed.