Numismatics, Coins and Currency

The Corps of Commissionaires facilitates the transfer of capability from the uniformed services to other work situations. The Corps Memorial Gallery contains a variety of military memorabilia (excluding firearms) associated with the major conflicts in which members of the corps have served.Primarily photographs and pictures. Some medals and other pieces of equipment.
A comprehensive and fascinating collection of early photographs, maps, collectables, historic documents, (including Camperdown Chronicles), artefacts and memorabilia.

The Museum's Aboriginal name translates as "home of yesterday". It is housed in a bluestone and brick building built in 1874. Displays, including many photographs, dressed models, clothing and farm machinery, reflect the gold mining rush of 1856. The Mooney and Charles Best collections of Aboriginal artefacts are also featured, the Mooney collection being on loan from the City of Ararat.Approximately 4000 items, plus 1000 photographs

The Clunes Museum is an historic building (1860) in the main street of Clunes which houses a collection of memorabilia from Victoria's first gold town. Displays include agricultural, gold, coins and cultural themes. Reception has a shop where local crafts, souvenirs and local history books are on sale. A research section offers a wide range of records dating back to the early 1860's. The Clunes Museum is run by volunteers. The Clunes Museum is accredited by MAP.The major strengths of the collection of 2,500 objects are photographs and items pertaining to gold mining, agriculture, industry,...
Melbourne Museum aims to inform and inspire visitors.

Melbourne Museum stands adjacent to the historic Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton Gardens. Together, they constitute the largest museum complex in the Southern Hemisphere.

Melbourne Museum uses the latest technology and interpretation methods to present educational exhibitions and programs on science and technology, indigenous cultures, the environment, the human mind and body and Australian society.

National icons on display include Phar Lap, Australia's greatest ever racehorse, and CSIRAC (...
This double-storeyed century old building features a beautiful staircase, tiling and doors, and stained glass windows. Some original fire places still remain. Entry includes a guided tour of this magnificent building.The display of war memorabilia from World War I and World War II is housed in two rooms of the building. There is also an extensive library. Also large collection of Photographs and Glass Slides.
Housed in the historic former Army Medical Corps Drill Hall, this major archive specialises in Victorian history and contains manuscripts, documents, photographs and some artefacts (a catalogue is available). The Society has a library of Victorian, local and family history.Approximately 23,500 manuscripts plus 11000 books, 6000 photographs, 800 postcards and 600 map, and some artefacts.
The Jewish Museum of Australia is a national institution dedicated to the conservation, preservaton and exhibition of Jewish heritage, arts, customs and religious practice in all its diversity. The permanent exhibitions are "A Timeline of Jewish History", "Australian Jewish History", "The Jewish Year" and "Belief and Ritual". The temporary gallery features a dynamic schedule of changing exhibitions. The collection comprises objects of ritual, religious, historical, cultural, social and artistic significance which encompass Jewish life and history. All...
This historic hotel/boarding house (built 1876) houses a collection of furniture, crockery, glassware, gowns, and napery, library, war memoranda, saddlery, pictures, photographs, family histories, carriages, farm machinery, tools etc. The first National Bank built in nearby Longwood (1886) has been resited in the grounds of the museum.Approximately 14 rooms of exhibits, annexe, machinery shed and National Bank, Eliza Furlonge Cottage
The museum illustrates the history of Australian banking and financial services. It displays banking equipment, manuscripts and illustrations from the ANZ bank's substantial archive.Approximately 3,000 items.
The Museum is housed in a Trust National Building, which is currently undergoing restoration. There are many maritime objects, including models of ships and a scale model of "Gerberus". We also have early clothing, domestic articles, an historic signature quilt from World War I, which has been to Sydney on loan. We also have a sound effects machine, thousands of photographs, silverware, WWI memorabilia, family research and a bi-monthly newsletter.World War I memorabilia including a signature quilt made by the women of Williamstown including Jacka's signature. We have archival...
Museum established 1954. Two floors of displays - approx 250 sq metres. Began as collection relevant to background of the Bible and continues that thrust. Education programs for booked groups is main activity. All funding private.Approximately 2,500 objects. Antiquities from Egypt, Eastern Mediterranean, Levant and Mesopotamia. Strengths in Palestinian Pottery and Egyptian Pottery. Syrian Glass, Clay tablets, Mummified Child, Replicas.

This unique Museum is built from 13,569 bottles. A collection of old bottles, rocks, minerals, fossils, gemstones, memorabilia is housed inside. A Dutch Windmill built from 5,000 bottles with a turning sail is a feature of the Museum, which is situated close to the scenic Kinglake National Park.Approximately 4 000 items

Sovereign Hill is a dynamic group of museums that captures the mining and social history of Ballarat. Its principle components are: an outdoor museum that represents the diggings and township of Ballarat in the period 1851 to 1861; the Sovereign Quartz mine consisting of above-ground mining plant and below ground mining museum; the 'Blood on the Southern Cross' sound and light show that tells the story of the Eureka Stockade rebellion; the Gold Museum which presents temporary and permanent exhibitions exploring the history of the district, encompassing both Ballarat social history and Koori...
Housed in a building 108 years of age, this museum teaches education from the past. A period classroom includes information about some past students. Photographs and memorabilia provide an insight into the school system of earlier days. Historical school rolls are also on display.600 class photos, complete readers, items for classes
Ellis Cottage, erected 1865, is made of local uncut stone. The cottage is a typical farmers residence of the 1870's. The stone construction is unique in this district as most construction is weatherboard.2 000 Historic photographs, and artefacts.
The museum is operated by the Wangaratta Historical Society Inc. and is housed in the former Wangaratta Fire Station. The lower floor is divided into two display rooms and a research room, upstairs a storage area. Approximately 160 square metres of floor space. In addition there are a number of items on display in the cellar of the Vine Hotel at north Wangaratta.Smaller items of historical significance; household, commercial, industrial, agricultural military etc, from the Wangaratta District (we do not have space for large items such as farm vehicles). 10,000 photographs from the local area...
The Kyneton Museum collection is housed in a group of buildings, the most substantial of which was built in 1856 from local bluestone for the infant Bank of New South Wales. The branch was opened to service miners of the region's goldfields. Original outbuildings include kitchens, celler and stables, and these have been augmented by various outbuildings including an original settlers cottage which was relocated here in 1970. The outbuildings house the extensive agricultural display, whilst the kitchen and laundry show authentic household utensils. An original settler's cottage 'Theaden' is...
The Museum collection is housed in the old Esperance Railway Station building. It was officially opened in October 1976 and is staffed entirely by volunteers. Items from the wreckage of Skylab which crashed to earth near Esperance in 1979, a WAGR steam locomotive, exhibits from Sir Douglas Mawson's Antarctic expedition, a large agricultural machinery display, items from shipwrecks and items from early settlements make up a fascinating collection of exhibits. Restoration, accession, database, archival and display programmes are carried out.Estimated 4,000 items. Physical and documentary...
This eleven room wattle and daub cottage built circa 1832 consists of an entry, box room, parlour, nursery, bedroom, dining room, family room, sewing room, kitchen, laundry and side verandah. Appropriate artefacts covering several eras are in the various rooms, with display cases in every room. Set in a neat garden surroundsAccessioned photographs number 8,000. Accessioned artworks number 500. There are some 7,000 artifacts of all types.

Pages