Portraits

The major collection is of over 4,000 works of contemporary art by Australian artists purchased and commissioned mainly during the 1980s when Parliament House was being built. It also includes artworks which are integrated with the architecture of the building and is expressive of Australia's national identity; the Historic Memorials Committee Collection, dates from 1911 and includes some 150 official portraits and paintings of significant events in Australian history and a diverse collection of parliamentary memorabilia including one of the four Magna Carta.Approximately 3,500 items
The Australian War Memorial commemorates the sacrifice of Australian men and women who have served in war, through its ceremonial areas, extensive exhibitions and research facilities. The focus of commemoration is the Hall of Memory, together with the Tomb of the Unknown Australian Soldier, the Pool of Reflection and the Roll of Honour that lists the names of over 102,000 Australians who have died in war.

The Memorial is internationally recognised for its exhibitions, that cover over 12,000 square metres, which present stories of Australia's military history from colonial times to...
The National Gallery of Australia is home to the nation's collection of art and has works drawn from every branch of the visual arts. The core of the collection is the Australia Collection which includes works by Roberts, Streeton, Condor, Boyd and Nolan. The International Collection parallels the Gallery's holdings of Australian art over the past two hundred years. It represents the major schools and movements in art from 1850 to the present. Other collections include Aboriginal Art comprising selections of traditional bark paintings through to contemporary works and Asian Art, including...
Built in 1927, this magnificent heritage building was the seat of political power for more than sixty years. Today, you can relive the dramatic stories behind the rise and fall of governments through an ever-changing program of events, tours, exhibitions and workshops. Take a fascinating guided tour or wander the corridors solo to discover the architectural detail of Kings Hall, the Prime Ministers Suite and the Chambers. Old Parliament House is also home to Australia's National Portrait Gallery, which celebrates the achievements of the people who have helped to shape Australia and...
Blundell's Cottage was built in 1860 to accommodate skilled workers on the Duntroon Estate. It remains the only such building in the Parliamentry Triangle. Furnished to depict turn-of-the-century rural life, the cottage provides an intriguing contrast to modern Canberra. Visitors gain an insight into the Limestone Plains before it was chosen as the site for the National Capital. Education program designed for ages 8 to 11.The cottage collection comprises less than 700 objects, the majority of which are on display. The focus is domestic and rural equipment from the period 1890-1910.
The National Library of Australia is the country's largest library and one of its leading research and reference libraries. As a major cultural institution, the National Library's role is to maintain and develop a national collection of library material to record the documentary heritage of all Australians, and to make those collections available for all Australians to use. The National Library was designed by Sydney architect Walter Bunning. It is situated on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin in Canberra, Australia's National Capital. With Parliament House and the National Gallery of...
A 1901 Federation style house and attached annexe, furnished in pre-1900 period. The annexe houses the Society's local and family history section. This includes photographs, a local library and all Grafton newspapers since 1859. The collection also includes local artefacts, memorabilia and documentation of early Grafton.Estimated 5,000 items and 10,000 photographs, plus 800 local history reference books in the library
Established in 1931, the Museum's collection was originally based around the skeleton of the killer whale Old Tom, which is well steeped in local folklore. The Museum's prime theme is the whaling industry. The secondary theme is general maritime and fishing while the third interest is the timber industry and local social history.Artefacts relating to shore-based whaling, the timber industry, fishing and shipping, lighthouse, some agriculture and numerous domestic items, natural history specimens (skeletons, minerals, fossils) maritime artefacts (shipwreck relics, navigational equipment,...
John Verge designed the country homestead Bedervale set in a pleasant eight acre garden on a working rural property. The homestead adjoins an earlier enclosed courtyard and farmyard. It contains a unique collection of the original families furniture and personal effects from the 1840's and is still lived in as a home.Family collection from pre 1840 to 1900 in situ plus recent family additions. Australian and English furniture, china, paintings, household effects and kitchen utensils. Horse drawn vehicles and machinery.
The Museum is situated in an old stone cottage of 4 rooms, one of the oldest buildings in town, having been built between 1847 and 1856 as a private residence. It was used as a bank by a number of banks from 1871 to the 1900s. It then became a residence again and when the owner died a group of interested people approached the RSL Club for permission to turn the cottage into a museum. It was agreed that a Historical Society be formed and after restoration of the cottage, the Museum was opened in October 1967. It was further restored in 1993 and now houses the Merriwa Tourist Information Centre...
The home and studio (1942-1970) of the late three times Archibald Prize winner, Sir William Dobell, and his sister, Thirza Alice, is maintained by local volunteers as a memorial museum. The house is on the interim list of the National Estates Register and contains original furniture, possessions, memorabilia, family mementoes, photographs and prints of his works are displayed. The house is also a centre for promotion of local community arts activities and exhibitions.Estimated 700-800 items. Original furniture, possessions, memorabilia, family mementos, photographs and prints of his works...
Berrima Museum is located in the historic village of Berrima, NSW, mid-way between Sydney and Canberra. The museum is managed and operated by volunteers of Berrima District Historical and Family History Society Inc, founded in 1960. Berrima Museum has been described as one of the best volunteer run museums in New South Wales. Its Mittagong archives contain an extensive collection of the history of the Berrima District, known today as the Wingecarribee Shire. Support material for the museum's displays is sourced from the archives. The museum was established in 1976 following the donation by...
The Museum traces Westpac's history from its beginnings in 1817 as the Bank of NSW to the present age of plastic cards and electronic banking. It features dateline exhibits in chronological order; authentic room settings of early banks, a working branch of the 1890s and a programmed computer which answers commonly asked questions.The Westpac Museum presents: "Then and Now: A Journey from Melbourne in 1956 to Sydney 2000", comparing the technological, financial and social changes since the 1956 Melbourne games leading up to Sydney 2000 Olympics.
The Newcastle Region Art Gallery is a leading force in regional Australia. It was the first purpose-built regional gallery in New South Wales, had the first full-time professional regional gallery director and has one of the largest regional gallery collections of some 3,000 works of art. The Gallery mounts exhibitions of the collection, stages solo and group shows by significant artists and hosts major travelling exhibitions, some of which attract over 40,000 visitors in their six week showings. The Newcastle City Council is the principal financial supporter of the Gallery. As well, funding...
On 1 February 2004 the new Tweed River Art Gallery opened its doors. It was officially opened by NSW Governor, Professor Marie Bashir AO. The striking purpose built gallery was designed by award winning Brisbane architect Bud Brannigan, on land generously donated by Doug and Margot Anthony. Set on a hilltop location it offers stunning, magnificent and panoramic views of the Tweed Valley.

The building has an education/workshop centre, four exhibition spaces, performance space, library, and a café. The new spacious building offers a friendly, comfortable ambience which is enjoyed...
The policy of the museum is to collect items relating to Paterson and the district - The collection is housed in the former Paterson Court House (1858-63) Fully restored externally and set in well maintained grounds. We extend country hospitality which complements the well accredited museum.The history of Paterson and District covering indigenous, white settlement, convict times to district development to present day in a relaxing well presented atmosphere.
Tocal Homestead is a collection of buildings dating from the 1820s including Webber's Cottage (1822), Blacksmith shop (1820s), Stone Barn (1830), Tocal Homestead (1841), Brick Stables (1860s) and Blacket Barn (1868). The Homestead itself, as with the out buildings, has remained virtually unchanged since its construction. The site also has evidence of Aboriginal inhabitants. The property Tocal originally operated as a sheep and horticultural enterprise, later becoming famous for its stud cattle and thoroughbred race horses Other features of the site include a bottle collection, graves,...
Visitors can explore all aspects of Cobar's unique industrial, pastoral, Aboriginal and social history during a visit to the centre. Displays are housed in the Great Cobar Copper Mine's magnificent administration building erected in 1910. Interpretive signs outside guide visitors through the grounds and an amazing collection of mining and transport artefacts, and on to the surrounding heritage areas.20,000 objects relating to the social, mining, pastoral and Aboriginal history of the Cobar district, ranging from large transport to fine instruments. Includes over 3,000 photographs and 50 art...
The front building of the Museum was originally used as a house dating from 1842. It is the only remaining house building in the CBD area of Port Macquarie from that era.
All artefacts on display show development from convict beginnings to early settlement from the 1840s. Displays at the museum include; a 'street of shops' depicting life as it was in the 1800s and a prize-winning costume collection. The museum has been in operation for over 40 years and is the winner of awards for best museum.More than 20,000 items collected over a period of 40 years. Artefacts from all aspects of Port...
The University Art Collection, like all art collections reflects those who assembled it. The Collection has been accumulating since the 1940's as educational institutions amalgamated and became subsumed by The Charles Sturt University. The Wagga Wagga and Goulburn Teachers Colleges collected through donation and its art masters insight a number of fine early-modern, Sydney based artists. The artists Frank Hinder and Rah Fizelle are well represented to name a few. Increasingly an Australian Indigenous art component both from the Western Desert, and Urban communities has been a focus, along...

Pages