Historic Buildings

The Museum consists of two large corrugated iron sheds. Displayed in these we have heavy agricultural machinery, farming equipment and other large and smaller items relating to a dairying district. Despite this the museum is not crowded. Also displayed, in glass cabinets we have crockery, glassware, bric-a-brac, sewing articles and three rooms depicting the 1930's - 1940's style of living. Our small items and photo room contains many records, fabrics and various documents. We have a great collection of transcripts of taped interviews with long time residents of Rosalie Shire. We have...
The society's research centre is staffed by volunteers. Our activities include a monthly guest speaker and newsletter, regular radio interviews and personnel available for guided tours. We encourage the study, preservation and exhibition of historical records. Regular displays with a topical them are featured.Queensland post office directories (fishe), marriages, deaths, obituaries from local newspapers (fishe), files containing details on significant houses, personalities and intuitions of Toowoomba and the local area.
We are a small group attempting to preserve the original site of white settlement in the area and the surrounding history. In addition, we are promoting local cultural activities on the site. Our most famous building is made from local stone and is possibly the first building built to metric dimensions in Australia.
The museum building was formerly a Scared Heart Convent of the Sisters of Mercy; two story timber 15mts x 25mts, internal walls are stained with tongue and groove crow's ash (1946). Yarraman Railway Station (1913) and Arthur Brown's butcher shop (c.1920). The grounds contain a scrub/rainforest area, farm machinery, plant shade house, water wise garden and unique water tank system from convent days. The total area is 1.2 hectares.The collection started in October 1997. Yarraman Heritage Centre has a wide range of community involvement, manly because of the necessity to attract large fundings...
The heritage listed Woolscour, that is once again operated by steam, has been left intact as a living document, it is the lat one of this type in Australia. There is a 20 stand shearing shed attached to the wool washing complex and an open flowing bore nearby. Outbuildings include a cookhouse, shearers quarters and managers residence. It has been left mainly intact. Current conservation work was completed in early 2002, with steam being reintroduced to the site.The collection consists mainly of historic machinery and buildings, large boilers, steam engines, wool washing troughs, large steam...
The Killarney and District Historical Society Inc., has been in operation for about 5 years, it has a small membership of about 30. The Society's rooms are called the Heritage Centre, and consist of the two rooms and a strong room that were the business area of a bank built in 1913. The aim of the Society is to stimulate awareness and understanding of the district's past. To met this aim, the society has published several smaller books on local history, and it maintains a collection of items significant to the area. It had also erected sixty markers marking sites that were important in 1901....
Claremont is an early stone villa built by John Panton, an Ipswich merchant, in 1858. In the early 1870's it was the home of George Throne, parliamentarian, and a centre for social life.This house is under restoration and is partially decorated with furnishings dating from the 1870's.
The historic houses complex displays on one site three typical North Queensland houses. These are a simple miner's cottage c.1884, a comfortable villa residence c.1888 and a farmhouse c.1921. The houses are furnished in styles appropriate to each house with an emphasis on items made in North Queensland.Each houses is furnished in styles appropriate to it and with an emphasis on items made in North Queensland.
The Tent House is a timber framed house with a canvas roof under a free standing galvanised iron roof. This unusual environmental adaptation was once common in Mount Isa as 1930’s mining company housing.The Tent House contains furnishings and objects of historical interest from Mount Isa.
The Museum is housed in the old power-station building, situated directly opposite the peanut silos in the town's Heritage Precinct. Other historic displays are located in Shire's earliest Council chambers and in Carroll's Cottage (the first building constructed in Kingaroy).The Museum's collection includes machinery used in local agriculture and the district's peanut industry. There is also a collection of tools used in trades such as carpentry, blacksmithing, dairying and the timber industry, as well as household items. The Museum also holds photos and a limited local archival records.
Global Arts Link (GAL) is Ipswich's dynamic, world-class art gallery and social history museum in the city's beautifully restored, heritage listed old town hall. GAL presents a range of visual arts exhibitions with entertaining and educational interpretation. Explore Ipswich's history in the Time Machine, world-class art in the CS Energy Gallery. Entertain the kids the in the Energex Children's Gallery - Lottie's Place, meet our Indigenous inhabitants in Making Tracks or just chill out in the Seven News Global Lounge. GAL offers something for yound and old, for the art enthusiast to the...
Caloundra Regional Art Gallery is a 'Category A' non-collecting gallery, curating and hiring exhibitions of national and international calibre. The Gallery's motto is 'Excellence, Education and Equity'.
The Cobb & Co Store Museum focuses on the local history of Cobb & Co, in particular the Surat to Yuleba route where Cobb & Co made its last run in 1924. Our feature exhibition 'Changing Ways' follows this theme, displaying our working Cobb & Co coach, an exact scale model of a fully harnessed coach and the local history of the Cobb & Co, including the stories of the families who worked for the company. 'All Among the Wool' shows something of the spirit of the industry that played such a large role in the Shire's development, displaying machinery and memorabilia, as well as...
The township of Rollingstone dates from 1884 and has many historical sites including World War II memorials. The Rollingstones Museum and Vistitor Information Centre is housed in the old Rollingstone Railway Station in Parkland, named in honour of a local war hero, Flight Lieutenant Vincent 'Bushy' Parker. The Railway Station opened in 1915 and ceased operation in 1992. The museum displays objects and photographs related to railway history, a scale model of the station and displays on the history of the Rollingstone township and district.Railway equipment dating from 1915 - 1990, WWII...
Cardwell's Old Telegraph Station and Post Office was built in 1870 and is probably the oldest building in North Queensland. It survived from the earliest days of Cardwell's history as Cardwell was the first settlement north of Bowen on the coast. With the former Courthouse, Lock-up and Old Shire Hall, the heritage precinct tells the story of Cardwell and its place in the communications vital to the development of North Queensland.The collection consists of objects and photographs of local provenance which are relevant to the buildings and local history.
We are a community based not-for-profit organisation who collect and preserve paper-based material that focuses on the history of Charters Towers and the surrounding Dalrymple Shire.Charters Towers and Dalrymple Archives focuses on all aspects of Charters Towers history. The collection contains 2,300 records, 1,500 photographs plus mining records including maps and plans.
Since their arrival in Brisbane on 10th May 1861, the Sisters of Mercy Brisbane Congregation have established a variety of significant health, education, and social welfare programs throughout the state - from Townsville in the north, to Roma in the west, and south to Stanthorpe on the border - and missions in Papua New Guinea and other overseas locations.

The Mercy Heritage Centre is dedicated to preserving the work of the Mercy Sisters, and their well-provenanced history, and maintains collections of relevant artefacts. We also serve as a contact for the Congregational...
The museum is located in what was previously the Unley Fire Station. The Museum collects, preserves, researches and displays items which are relevant to the history of the Unley Council area and which identify its unique character. A permanent display "Unley Remembered" traces the chronological history of the area. Changing exhibitions on a wide range of themes are presented regularly. The ACCESS Gallery provides space for local community groups and organisations to present their own displays.Approximately 3,000 photographs; 4,000 documents; 4,000 artefacts
The Museum is the only one of its kind which attempts to display the history and banking memorabilia of all banks, building societies and credit unions. A private museum established 9 December 1988, owned and operated by Michael P. Vort-Ronald, numismatic writer and publisher. Large collections of moneyboxes, passbooks, equipment, signage, gems, minerals, fossils, meteorites and special ultraviolet mineral displays are included in the collection, which covers the history of Australian currency with particular emphasis on the last century. There are collections of notes and coins not...
The Museum is a unique, self-contained entity - the Scholz Family Cottage (built 1872) where a family of six was raised, adjacent to the Wheelwright (1872) and Blacksmith (1869) Shops - all set within a park environment. The Cottage features possessions and household items belonging to the Scholz family while the Wheelwright and Blacksmith Shops contain the many tools and wide range of equipment - some of which were made on the premises - used by the Scholz family for almost 100 years. All of the things needed for carrying out these particular trades are complete and on display in the...

Pages