Historic Buildings

The Museum is a former Methodist church and rebuilt slab settlers cottage furnished with Australian colonial furniture, mostly home made & original. It contains displays pertaining to the family histories of people from the Laralga district.Local history eg. Machinery used for dairying, potato growing, cropping etc. Photographs of local interest. Books from now closed stores, ledgers etc.

Mary Mackillop place in the heart of North Sydney is a site of great historical and religious significance. In 1883 Mary Mackillop made it the headquarters of the Religious Order she founded to bring education to the poor in the bush and the city slums. It is famous as the place of her death and burial.
Well established now as a cultural & educational centre, it features the beautiful Memorial Chapel, the celebrated museum together with accommodation & conference facilities.
The temporary Centenary of Federation exhibition 'Dreams Made to Last' will be on display throughout...
The Museum building dates back to C1871 when James Campbell Duff built a general store. The building is the oldest commercial premises in Wingham.Local History as seen in photos, farm equipment, hospital equipment, home life, education, good living, music and wartime. Also a collection of Local and Family History Archives.
Tarella Historic Cottage is in its original condition. In 1879 John McLaughlin was granted 50 acres in the Blue Mountains in recognition of his service in the NSW Volunteer Force. The grant is on Cox's Road at the site of 'Hobby's Reach', the stretch of road constructed by LT. Hobby in Cox's absence. In C.1886 John McLaughlin built Tarella as a holiday home for his family, and it was in the family's ownership until 1988 when the last remaining daughter Beryl (there being no issue) bequeathed the cottage, the contents and the remaining three acres to the Blue Mountains Historical Society. A...
The Turkish Bath Museum, having been built in the 1880's by Richard Wynne, a founder of Mt Wilson and the benefactor for the Wynne Art Prize for Landscape and Sculpture, is situated on a hill facing north overlooking the Blue Mountains National Park and is part of the heritage estate of 'Wynstay' which is listed on the State Heritage Register. The Museum is also on the National Heritage register. Now partly conserved, it is a stylish building with beautifully stained and hand painted glass windows, polychrome brick work, Italianate decoration and an elaborate turret. Although there is only...
The Liverpool Museum was established in 1989 and aims to preserve and promote Liverpool's history and cultural heritage through historical collections, exhibitions and public programs. They explore changing cultural experiences of local people - ways of living, working and believing (in workplaces, homes and communities).

Items from the past are used extensively in Museum exhibitions and public programs - community addresses, education programs and publications.

The Museum includes historic Collingwood House, which dates from 1810 and was the home of Nantucket whaling...
Original Glen Innes Hospital (Heritage listed) with over 10,000 displays from local Pioneer families including a slab hut inside the museum; 250,000 (minimum) Archive records on early settlers, businesses, council, properties, 10,000 original photos of early days.WW II memorabilia, slab Hut, Horse drawn vehicles, colonial rooms, costumes from 1800's
In 1841 Berrima Court House was the site of the first trial by jury in Australia. The museum focuses on Australia's colonial history. The discovery of the district by explorers and the reasons for settlement of the region are depicted on a multi-projector, wide-screen audio visual presentation. Highlights of infamous trials that took place at Berrima Court house are also depicted on the audio visual display. Visitors can explore the Court House building which includes the imposing judge's chambers and grand jury room.The grand jury room has displays of early corporal punishment devices and...
Nutcote was the harbourside home of the famous children's author and illustrator May Gibbs. It was built to her design in 1925 by acclaimed Sydney architect B.J Waterhouse. She lived there for forty four years until her death in 1969. Following a nation-wide outcry at the proposed demolition by a developer, the house was bought by the North Sydney Council and opened to the public in 1994.May Gibbs' property and possessions were sold on her death and the funds given to children's charities. The main items in the collection are the house itself and the garden; some items of furniture originally...
The Museum of the Riverina has two impressive sites. The first is situated in the former Historic Council Chambers, built in 1881, and converted in 1998 to function as a museum facility. This site is used as a meeting venue - in the former chamber - and as a venue for hosting a regular program of travelling exhibitions.

The second site, adjacent to the Botanic Gardens, was formerly run by the Wagga Wagga & District Historical Society, and opened in 1965. The site was renovated and reopened in September 2001 and contains internal exhibitions and a number of outbuildings. The...
Yamba's museum display has often been described by visitors as the finest small historical collection on Australia's east coast. Sited close to the towns centre on a sealed road which leads to one of the area's most beautiful Pacific Ocean beaches, the museum is located in spacious grounds with ample off-street parking. Directly opposite in a well-maintained park is a fully restored 150 year flagstaff, which once controlled the entry and exit of all ships into the nearby Clarence River, the biggest single waterway on the East Coast. The flagstaff surrounds are the focal point fro many local...
The Cape Byron Trust manages the Cape Byron Headland Reserve, a NPWS State Recreation Area. This reserve contains a 100-year-old lighthouse and lightkeepers' cottages, an Aboriginal midden site over 1000 years old and significant strands of littoral rainforest.The collection contains regional maritime archives of the Northern Rivers of NSW, including an 1889 "Red Sector" light.
The University of Sydney War Memorial Carillon commemorates the 197 undergraduates, graduates and staff who died in the Great War of 1914-1918. It was paid for by private subscription (inside and outside the University) and was dedicated on the afternoon of Anzac Day, 25 April, 1928, by visiting English carillonist, Mr. Bryan Barker.Originally the Carillon consisted of 62 bells giving 49 notes. In 1973 the top bells were returned to the original founders for recasting, and at the same time five additional small bells were cast. The rebuilt Carillon now has a total of 54 bells and a range of 4...
The Museum of Education consists of two original 1880's school buildings (Pallamallawa and Dumaresq) and a post WWII portable building from the Armidale High School. A weather-shed and a pit toilet complete the ensemble. Each schoolhouse is furnished with authentic school furniture, books, teaching aids and photographs.Of special significance is the collection of early school texts and departmental publications, comprising 6000 volumes. Armidale's Museum of Education is considered to be the most comprehensive collection of educational material held in any university or public collection,...
Designed by the pioneer vigneron George Wyndham in 1829, Dalwood, with its striking Greek porch, is beautifully sited in the midst of the Wyndham Estate's Hunter Valley Winery. In the 20th century this most sensitive and romantic of houses fell into disrepair and by the 1970s was a ruin. Stabilised and conserved by the Trust and the descendants of George Wyndham, the house stands as a monument to the creative spirit of its first owner.
Dundullimal was built in the 1840s originally as part of a 6,500 hectare squatting run. The timber slab homestead is sophisticated in its T-shape plan and fine cedar joinery. Stone stables, stockyards and the remnants of a 19th century garden all help make this a fascinating visit.
This picturesque colonial Georgian cottage (c.1845) set in fine gardens was bequeathed to the National Trust by Miss Ida Traill, a descendant of pioneering settlers in the Bathurst district. The 19th century cottage garden is ablaze with colour in Spring. Containing memorabilia collected by Miss Traill and her family, the cottage provides an authentic record of life in Australia's oldest inland city.
The property, established in the 1830s, was developed by F.J. White, a member of one of Australia's significant pastoral families. A visit to Saumarez Homestead brings to life the world of a pastoral property.The Trust property comprises a two-storey Edwardian mansion, set in elaborate gardens and a rich collection of farm buildings dating from the 1840s to 1950s.
The National Trust of Australia (NSW) is a non-government, Community organisation which promotes the conservation of both the built and natural heritage (e.g. Buildings, bushland, cemeteries, scenic landscapes, rare and endangered flora and fauna, and steam engines may all have heritage value). The Trust has approximately 30,000 members in New South Wales.The National Trust owns and operates many house museums and galleries. There are separate Guide listings for the following properties: Ahimsa, Bedervale, Cooma Cottage, Dalwood House, Dundullimal, Everglades Gardens, Experiment Farm Cottage...
Australia's Only Black & White Art Gallery exhibiting original cartoons only from the 3rd largest private collection in Australia. Rotary Cartoon Awards WWII heritage listed RAAF Bunker. Converted and restored by Rotary Club of Coffs Harbour City. Regarding Australia's History and Heritage with Humour.Australia's Only Black & White Art Gallery housed in 1943 WWII RAAF Bunker (Heritage listed) exhibited cartoons from Rotary National and International Cartoon collection plus displays from private collections. NSW state forests Henry Kendell Collection on display.

Pages