Historic Buildings

Once at the heart of a large estate, Elizabeth Farm was the home of John and Elizabeth Macarthur, and was an important social, political and agricultural centre during the first forty years after the establishment of the colony of New South Wales. Construction of the house commenced in 1793, and it remains the oldest surviving European building in Australia. Remodelled and extended in the 1820s, it is a typical early homestead, a single storey structure with encircling verandahs. The furnishings are largely reproduction, based on detailed research, and reflect the house's appearance and...
Visitors can explore all aspects of Cobar's unique industrial, pastoral, Aboriginal and social history during a visit to the centre. Displays are housed in the Great Cobar Copper Mine's magnificent administration building erected in 1910. Interpretive signs outside guide visitors through the grounds and an amazing collection of mining and transport artefacts, and on to the surrounding heritage areas.20,000 objects relating to the social, mining, pastoral and Aboriginal history of the Cobar district, ranging from large transport to fine instruments. Includes over 3,000 photographs and 50 art...
The museum is housed in a 100 year old weatherboard cottage with additional items held in a re-located cottage and sheds. There are also displays outside. The collection began as a Bicentenary celebration project and features displays depicting the history of Junee and district, and family histories.
The museum is devoted to the preservation of all manner of items from the railways of New South Wales, including the Dorrigo Branch line. There are currently 57 locomotives, 300 carriages and wagons and thousands of small exhibits. Work continues on preparing the site for the display of trains and carriages. While no date has been determined for the official opening there are plans to have open days when the public will have the opportunity to view the exhibits. Totally volunteer organisation with 700 members, membership details available on request.The largest preserved railway...
The Museum houses a collection of historic artefacts, some pertaining to Gilgandra. The Cooee March Room contains memorabilia of the Boer War, World War I (Grace March) and World War II. A large shed houses rural and outdoor exhibits of machinery and historic buildings.
The NSW Lancers Memorial Museum commemorates the history of the NSW Lancers, Australian Light Horse, Cavalry and the Armoured Corps. Situated in 19th Century Lancer Barracks, the Museum has a large collection of cavalry and armoured corps memorabilia including a well maintained collection of armoured vehicles. The Museum contains New South Wales Cavalry and Light Horse memorabilia as well as memorabilia, photographic equipment and vehicles from the Royal Australian Armoured Corp.The collection has many strengths. It includes uniforms, saddlery, banners, drums, photos, models and armoured...
The front building of the Museum was originally used as a house dating from 1842. It is the only remaining house building in the CBD area of Port Macquarie from that era.
All artefacts on display show development from convict beginnings to early settlement from the 1840s. Displays at the museum include; a 'street of shops' depicting life as it was in the 1800s and a prize-winning costume collection. The museum has been in operation for over 40 years and is the winner of awards for best museum.More than 20,000 items collected over a period of 40 years. Artefacts from all aspects of Port...
About 1856 the museum building, originally a hotel, was built by James Mortal a rubble mason. Some of the original stonework can be seen as foundations for the verandah and the kitchen walls. The premises continued as a hotel until 1899 variously known as Golden Fleece Hotel, Tattersall's and the Royal Hotel. From 1899 to 1924 the premise was continuously used by a number of doctors as a surgery and residence. The Molong Historical Society Inc acquired the building in 1970 with the assistance of the Molong Shire Council and opened as the museum in November 1970.estimated 4 000, plus items and...
Woodford Academy, the oldest building on the Blue Mountains, is one of the most intact and substantial examples of an early colonial inn (C1833-1867), known at first as "The Woodman" and later as "The Kings Arms". From 1868 it served as Alfred Fairfax's country home and operated as a guest house in the 1880's to 1906. In 1907 John McManamey opened Woodford Academy as a boy's boarding school. The school closed in 1936, the last of the McManamey family remaining in residence until1988. It is now a National Trust Property. The building reflects 160 years of varied and...
Griffith Pioneer Park Museum is an open air museum, located on 11ha of bush reserve 2 kms from the centre of Griffith. The museum specialises in the story of the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area, from pre-history, through the sparsely settled 19th Century stations to the closely settled, multi-cultural oasis of today. The story is told through the museums collection of 40 historical buildings, most original, and an extensive rural machinery collection. Multicultural heritage and make-do objects are special interest areas. Action Day, each Good-Friday is a major event on Griffith's Easter Calendar...
The Society was formed in 1963 and since 1968 has opeated a museum in the former School of Arts building, which is heritage-listed. The purpose of the Museum is the collecting, preserving and interpreting of local heritage for everyone. The Society aims to promote local history, including family history and the Museum collection, to the local community and the general public.Dungog Museum has a wide range of items representing local and family history. The collection reflects the area's rural history, including dairying and the timber industry, and local manufacturing including items from...
Original telescopes used by John Tebbutt. Two observatory buildings 1879 and 1894. House built in 1845 by the astronomer's father. Old horse stables, Coachman's cottage, now a fifty seat restaurant.30 items
Local history of agricultural and mining machinery (mostly horse powered). 14 harvesters, 3 binders, 2 winnowers, 2 hay loaders, 2 hay presses, hay mowers-rakes, sweeps, chaffcutters, 4 wagons, sulkies, carts, 1926 I.H.C Truck, 1932 Bedford Truck, Tractors, ploughs, cultivators, seedsowers, wool presses, shearing plant.300 items
Eryldene is a charming house and garden situated in the heart of Ku-ring-gai on Sydney's North Shore. The Georgian Revival style house was designed by distinguished Australian Architect William Hardy Wilson in 1913 for Professor E.G. Waterhouse and his wife Janet and named after her family home in Kilmarnock, Scotland. Both the house and the garden are protected by a permanent conservation order issued by the NSW Heritage Council in 1979. It is recognised as the finest example of Hardy Wilson's work.

Prof. Waterhouse, a world authority on camellias, designed the unique garden...
This museum is part Holy Trinity, Garrison Church the first military settlement with maps. The military section shows memorabilia from Boer War to Gulf War inclusive.Sydney's early history photos of people and places. Inclusive is first Prime Minister who attended this hall when it was a Parish School, as well as Cedric Immanuel prints, paintings of Rocks, maps of early Sydney, medal, WW2 uniforms, etc.
A Georgian homestead built by Reverend Samuel Marsden Circa 1820, now fully restored and leased to Parramatta Sisters of Mercy. As well as operating as a tearoom, the building provides the community a focus point for their work with intellectually challenged, disadvantaged and unemployed people.
Situated on Blowhole Point adjacent to the Visitors centre this beautifully restored cottage operates as a maritime and regional museum and is run by the Kiama and District Historical Society.Detailed pictorial records of Kiama's colourful past can be seen including cedar getters, the basalt quarrymen and shipping history.
Convict built church commenced 1824, also surgeon's dispensary (now chapel) and surgeon's residence both built between 1821 and 1823. All furnishings of cedar, including box pews. Several items dating from early 1800's others from 1824 onwards. Church hill oldest site in Port Macquarie. Grave of Captain Rolland under front N.E. box pew (first supervisor of convicts building the church). An exquisite open string spiral cedar staircase in tower. There are many unusual (because of age mostly) and beautiful objects in our church, perhaps the most outstanding is the stained glass window of St...
Historic Houses Trust NSW administors 13 heritage listed properties in NSW which contain collections dating from the late 18th century to present day.
The properties are: Rose Seidler House, Rouse Hill Estate, Elizabeth Bay House, Elizabeth Farm, Hyde Park Barracks, Museum of Sydney, Vaucluse House, Justice and Police Museum, Meroogal, Susannah Place, Government House, Lyndhurst Resource Centre. The Historic Houses Trust also administers The Mint building on Macquarie St, but it is not open to the public.See separate Guide entries for collection details.
The Museum building was constructed in 1909. It was opened in 1910 as the Gloucester Shire Council Chambers. The Council occupied the building until 1959. It then became a private residence until 1984 when the Gloucester District Historical Society Inc. purchased it. The building is listed in the Register of the National Trust of Australia (NSW).The Society collects and displays objects from the Gloucester District. Objects are, Australian domestic items, textiles, toys, military memorabilia, geological specimens, tools and photographs of activities, events and scenes of the Gloucester
...

Pages