Social History Museum

Nativity House is the only Christmas Museum in Australia. It displays over 600 nativity scenes (cribs) from 60 countries. The materials used to create a nativity scene are unique to each country and include silk, gold, silver,, wood, ebony, maize leaves, straw, wood shavings, embroideries, plaster terracotta, clay, turtle shell, glass and crystal. Other displays include antique Christmas cards, handcraft and nativity paintings after the old masters. A unique multicultural Christmas celebration which shows the true meaning of Christmas, which is the birth of Christ.The true meaning of...
Berrima Museum is located in the historic village of Berrima, NSW, mid-way between Sydney and Canberra. The museum is managed and operated by volunteers of Berrima District Historical and Family History Society Inc, founded in 1960. Berrima Museum has been described as one of the best volunteer run museums in New South Wales. Its Mittagong archives contain an extensive collection of the history of the Berrima District, known today as the Wingecarribee Shire. Support material for the museum's displays is sourced from the archives. The museum was established in 1976 following the donation by...
The Dubbo Military Museum is a private collection of artefacts from the World War II era. It's collection includes planes, tanks, guns, vehicles, uniforms and documents.50 major exhibits

The museum exhibits relate to the town of Murrurundi and the surrounding district. In addition to the exhibits, files are made up of many aspects of the lifestyle and achievements of those who have lived there since 1840 when the town of Murrurundi was first laid out. The twin town of Haydonton was laid out in 1841-42 by Thomas Haydon and was a private town. Files of many families are featured. The Fishburn Room contains a splendid model of HMS Endeavour which was built by Thomas Fishburn and acquired by Captain Cook who refitted it before sailing in it on his voyage of discovery.1500...

Volunteer organisation housed in historic bank building, locally heritage listed. The collection comprises items and memorabilia donated by the local community. All relate to the area's agricultural and dairying past and to Berry's origins as an estate town of Coolangatta Estate. There is a good collection of early twentieth century photographs (some original) taken locally; and records relating to local families are maintained. The building which houses the collection (rented from Council) is a former ESA bank building designed by nineteenth century architect William W Wardell. It...
A Beau Geste-style fortress structure houses this social history museum. Its emphasis is on military history, with exhibits ranging from a Japanese tank to miniature soldiers. The Museum also features a historic comics section, stamps, hundreds of cameras, rare musical instruments and other items of general and Australian historical interest.
Housed in a 1900s weatherboard school house, the Museum numbers over 4,000 items, representing the rural and coal fields heritage of the region. Its two classrooms still contain original fittings, such as desks and forms, blackboards, and wall maps to retain the character and function of the building. Items displayed range from buttons to pianos and organs. Rare and old books dating from the 1830s are a feature. The collection is typical of any country town, depicting the typical lifestyle of the region from the 1920s.4,000 items, 400 photographs, 100 postcards, 400 books
Established in 1930, the Gallery & Museum houses an art collection which was started in 1924. The building was significantly enlarged in 1982, with the addition of the Museum section. The Gallery section presents temporary exhibitions that explores our cultural landscape. The Museum section focuses on early beach fashions, surfcraft and historical photographs. The Gallery and Museum is also active in the preservation of Manly's unique and colourful history.
Current exhibitions:
'Future Function' is an exhibition featuring twenty-eight ceramic artists, which explores the...
The Museum traces Westpac's history from its beginnings in 1817 as the Bank of NSW to the present age of plastic cards and electronic banking. It features dateline exhibits in chronological order; authentic room settings of early banks, a working branch of the 1890s and a programmed computer which answers commonly asked questions.The Westpac Museum presents: "Then and Now: A Journey from Melbourne in 1956 to Sydney 2000", comparing the technological, financial and social changes since the 1956 Melbourne games leading up to Sydney 2000 Olympics.
The building was purpose built 30 years ago and houses many items depicting the every day rural life in the Hunter Valley. These include carriages, carts, horse drawn hearse, ploughing implements, implements used for wine making, butter making, various tools, household items, washing machines, sewing machines, lamps, irons, musical instruments, a rock collection, and much more.
A small museum with a very comprehensive display of historical photos relevant to Yamba's history, some working models (eg. the lighthouse, the railway which was used to build Yamba's breakwater walls), some artefacts and a large quantity of reading material (newspaper cuttings, historical books etc).850 historical artefacts; 300 books; over 1,000 photographs, plus ten photograph albums and ten volumes of newspaper cuttings
The policy of the museum is to collect items relating to Paterson and the district - The collection is housed in the former Paterson Court House (1858-63) Fully restored externally and set in well maintained grounds. We extend country hospitality which complements the well accredited museum.The history of Paterson and District covering indigenous, white settlement, convict times to district development to present day in a relaxing well presented atmosphere.
The main museum building was Mullumbimby's first post office, built in timber in 1907, which was relocated to its present site in 1984. Summers Park in which the museum buildings and external exhibits are located, has a replica slab cottage, a large collection of horse drawn farm implements, and equipment from the local railway, water supply facility and brick works. Mullumbimby is the service centre for the Brunswick Valley and lies in the heart of the Byron Shire. A monthly market is held in Summers Park on the third Saturday of each month.The Museum houses a general collection of local...
The Museum was formerly the Kandos Methodist Church, a unique building built to an American plan, brought to the town by the manager of NSW Cement, Lime and Coal Co. in 1915.

The Museum has a strong focus on the Cement industry based in this shire. It is possibly the only Museum in the state to collect, record and present the history and devlopment of the cement industry. There are also large collections relating to the domestic, agricultural, leisure, communications and transport history of the area. An extensive photograph collection together with written records relating to the...
Carss Cottage was built in the 1860s by William Carss, a Scottish emigrant and cabinet maker who came to Australia in 1831, brought here by the Reverend John Dunmore Lang. The Museum promotes Australian history, particularly that of the Kogarah municipality. Its displays are continually changing, highlighting local and national events. The collection includes a great variety of photographs, needlework, furniture etc.Approximately 2,000 items; 2,000 photographs
The museum is located in the unused refreshment rooms and staff accommodation areas of the heritage listed Mt Victoria Railway Station. The museum's collection contains early Australian memorabilia, local artefacts and the documented history of the districts early settlers. A collection of railway refreshment room memorabilia and a collection of artefacts recovered during the archaeological investigation of the Cox's River convict stockade are featured in the display.The collection comprises some 2,000 objects and 1,000 photographs. Farm machinery, household items furniture and paintings,...
Chiefly an audiovisual museum, The Story Of Nyngan is housed in the restored railway refreshment room. It includes some artefacts, and has a particular emphasis on the 1990 flood which inundated the town. Photograph records of white settlement, including local personalities, are held.
The building, with its interior sculptures and bas relief panels by Raynor Hoff, commemorates the courage and sacrifices of those who fought in World War I. Exhibition showcases within the Memorial show various aspects of the life of servicemen and women in times of war. A permanent ongoing photographic exhibition depicts the nine conflicts in which Australians participated between 1885 and 1972.
Richmond Vale Railway Museum was commenced in 1979 to rebuild the abandoned private railways of the J & A Brown coalmining family. The museum now operates steam engine - hauled passenger trains between former collieries of Richmond main and Pelaw main. The historic park occupies the site of what was once the largest shaft mine in the southern hemisphere. Many of the buildings have been restored.9 Steam locomotives used by local industries, 2 ex BHP steam cranes, which were used to build Newcastle steelworks. Four industrial diesel locomotives. 21 Passenger carriages, 62 ex government...
Since its opening in 1968, the Gundagai Museum has displayed a wealth of historical memorabilia depicting a life that was both hard and gracious. Special exhibits include Phar Lap's saddlecloth, the shirt worn by Banjo Patterson's Kiley of Kileys Run and the assayer's bowl used by US President Herbert Hoover. The museum also features displays on bushrangers; Melba XV; the famous Gundagai cow; and Aboriginal hero Yarri. Other items in its collection include scaled models of early buildings and historical photographs and documents.Approximately 10,000 items of historical memorabilia

Pages