Regions of Northern Territory

Extensive coastal lowlands, floodplains and tidal flats make up a large part of this area. Eucalypt woodlands and tall open forests dominate lowland areas with melaleuca scrub, screw pines and mangroves occurring on tidal flats.

Located in the Eastern/Central part of the Northern Territory, the Barkly Region contains the Davenport Range National Park, the Devils Marbles,Newcastle Waters, and the gold mining town of Tennant Creek.

Separated from the mainland by Clarence Strait, Bathurst Island was first charted in 1819 by Philip King, son of Governor King. Much of the coastline of Bathurst Island is deeply indented by mangrove-fringed swampy inlets.

The Red Centre's unique landscape and scenery attracts thousands of tourists each year. This is also a culturally significant area for the indigenous people who have inhabited this land for over 40 thousand years.

Australia's Northern Territory Arnhem Region has a history of economic activity, including export and import trade with Asian neighbours, which spans hundreds of years, well before the influence of European settlement.