House Museum

Elizabeth Bay House was constructed from 1835-1839, under the supervision of N.S.W based architects John Verge and John Bibb, from plans obtained from an unidentified English source for Alexander Macleay, Colonial Secretary of N.S.W 1826-1837 and his wife, Eliza. The house was intended to be the finest house in the colony. It was built within a celebrated landscape garden which was developed from 1826 onwards. Today the interiors of Elizabeth Bay house have been carefully reconstructed to the 1839-1845 period. Appropriate furniture, wallpaper, carpets, soft furnishings and fittings...
Once at the heart of a large estate, Elizabeth Farm was the home of John and Elizabeth Macarthur, and was an important social, political and agricultural centre during the first forty years after the establishment of the colony of New South Wales. Construction of the house commenced in 1793, and it remains the oldest surviving European building in Australia. Remodelled and extended in the 1820s, it is a typical early homestead, a single storey structure with encircling verandahs. The furnishings are largely reproduction, based on detailed research, and reflect the house's appearance and...
Rose Seidler House was built between 1948 and 1950 and was the first commission for internationally renowned architect Harry Seidler. It features open planning, minimal colour schemes, mod cons and appliances. The original furniture is one of the most important post war design collections in Australia.The Living and Dining Rooms feature original 1950s furniture and a minimalist interior.
The Yanco Powerhouse was built in c1913 to supply power to the Murrumbidgee irrigation area. The building was extended in 1937 and decommissioned in 1957 when electricity from the Snowy Mountains Scheme became available. An all concrete construction, the Power House is five stories high with a large chimney stack. Since restoration work the building has been used as a museum displaying mostly farm machinery and items of local history. A flat is available for rent and the museum has a sixty seat theatrette. Work has commenced on a photo gallery which will display a wide range of images...
The Museum holds a large collection of household items, farm machinery, tools, furniture, and books with photographs of people and places from early times. Memorabilia from Boer and World Wars is also kept.
Fairfield City Museum and Gallery consists of a museum with a permanent local history exhibition, a historical village, a temporary exhibition gallery and a community access space. The historic village, complete with soundscapes, brings to life Western Sydney from 1900 to the 1930s, with reconstructed and heritage buildings, including a schoolhouse, a slab hut, a weatherboard cottage, a blacksmith's shop, a motor garage, The Biz newspaper printery and Wheatley's Store. The temporary exhibition gallery and community access space host exhibitions representing the diverse cultures of Fairfield...
The front building of the Museum was originally used as a house dating from 1842. It is the only remaining house building in the CBD area of Port Macquarie from that era.
All artefacts on display show development from convict beginnings to early settlement from the 1840s. Displays at the museum include; a 'street of shops' depicting life as it was in the 1800s and a prize-winning costume collection. The museum has been in operation for over 40 years and is the winner of awards for best museum.More than 20,000 items collected over a period of 40 years. Artefacts from all aspects of Port...
Woodford Academy, the oldest building on the Blue Mountains, is one of the most intact and substantial examples of an early colonial inn (C1833-1867), known at first as "The Woodman" and later as "The Kings Arms". From 1868 it served as Alfred Fairfax's country home and operated as a guest house in the 1880's to 1906. In 1907 John McManamey opened Woodford Academy as a boy's boarding school. The school closed in 1936, the last of the McManamey family remaining in residence until1988. It is now a National Trust Property. The building reflects 160 years of varied and...
The Illawarra Museum collection is held in the first purpose-built Post and Telegraph Museum in Wollongong (1882-1892). The Museum operates on a voluntary basis. The objects collected and displayed relate to Illawarra's past with particular emphasis on the years at the close of the 19th Century. The Society has a collection of over 9,000 photographs in custody of Wollongong City Library and has also published many books on local history. The collection presents a picture of pioneer life including settlement, education, agriculture, mining, transport and trade. The entrance room features a...
Eryldene is a charming house and garden situated in the heart of Ku-ring-gai on Sydney's North Shore. The Georgian Revival style house was designed by distinguished Australian Architect William Hardy Wilson in 1913 for Professor E.G. Waterhouse and his wife Janet and named after her family home in Kilmarnock, Scotland. Both the house and the garden are protected by a permanent conservation order issued by the NSW Heritage Council in 1979. It is recognised as the finest example of Hardy Wilson's work.

Prof. Waterhouse, a world authority on camellias, designed the unique garden...
Historical Cottage built in 1887. Corrugated iron and log sheds (shearing Shed Style). Extensive collections maintained, restored, conserved by volunteers. Special exhibitions arranged in line with community events such as a wool display for prime stock day and a "1901" theme for the centenary of federation.Local rural community archival religions and phonographs. Historical cottage with turn of the century display. i.e. Kitchen with old fuel stove, meat safes, butter churning, china, lace, linen, silver teapots. Antique farming machinery, office equipment, sulkies harness etc.
Nutcote was the harbourside home of the famous children's author and illustrator May Gibbs. It was built to her design in 1925 by acclaimed Sydney architect B.J Waterhouse. She lived there for forty four years until her death in 1969. Following a nation-wide outcry at the proposed demolition by a developer, the house was bought by the North Sydney Council and opened to the public in 1994.May Gibbs' property and possessions were sold on her death and the funds given to children's charities. The main items in the collection are the house itself and the garden; some items of furniture originally...
Designed by the pioneer vigneron George Wyndham in 1829, Dalwood, with its striking Greek porch, is beautifully sited in the midst of the Wyndham Estate's Hunter Valley Winery. In the 20th century this most sensitive and romantic of houses fell into disrepair and by the 1970s was a ruin. Stabilised and conserved by the Trust and the descendants of George Wyndham, the house stands as a monument to the creative spirit of its first owner.
Dundullimal was built in the 1840s originally as part of a 6,500 hectare squatting run. The timber slab homestead is sophisticated in its T-shape plan and fine cedar joinery. Stone stables, stockyards and the remnants of a 19th century garden all help make this a fascinating visit.
Majestic views of the harbour across a landscaped foreshore park are a reminder of the days when Lindesay was the only residence on Darling Point. Built in 1834 by Colonial Treasurer Cambell Drummond Riddell, the property was the first colonial house built in the Gothic Style. Lindesay may be hired for special functions and is available for inspection (by arrangement).
This picturesque colonial Georgian cottage (c.1845) set in fine gardens was bequeathed to the National Trust by Miss Ida Traill, a descendant of pioneering settlers in the Bathurst district. The 19th century cottage garden is ablaze with colour in Spring. Containing memorabilia collected by Miss Traill and her family, the cottage provides an authentic record of life in Australia's oldest inland city.

Riversdale, built about 1840 as a coaching inn and residence is a fine example of a single-storey Colonial Georgian cottage set in flowering gardens. The property was purchased in 1875 by Edward Twynam, later to become Surveyor General of NSW and remained in this family until acquired by the Trust in 1967.Riversdale is renowned for its collection of fine Australian Colonial furniture, arts and craft dating from the late nineteenth century and the delightful garden.

The property, established in the 1830s, was developed by F.J. White, a member of one of Australia's significant pastoral families. A visit to Saumarez Homestead brings to life the world of a pastoral property.The Trust property comprises a two-storey Edwardian mansion, set in elaborate gardens and a rich collection of farm buildings dating from the 1840s to 1950s.
Set in spacious grounds, Tomago House is a fine residence built in the 1840's for Sydney barrister Richard Windeyer as his country estate. The elegant home of Muree sandstone features cedar joinery of high quality, and fine marble and timber fireplaces. A central hall with slightly domed roof and round-headed wall niche complements the magnificent drawing-room and dining-room, with their curved bays allowing excellent views of the grounds. French doors open out to the flagged sandstone verandah, which is supported by slender cast-iron columns.
Tomago Chapel was built at the direction of...
Vienna Cottage was built in 1871 and is an excellent example of the small stone cottages which were typical of the Hunter's Hill peninsula last century. A visit includes a short self-guided walking tour. The adjoining orchard and park are ideal for picnics.The house features displays relating to the history of the cottage and Hunter's Hill.

Pages