Archives

Visitors can explore all aspects of Cobar's unique industrial, pastoral, Aboriginal and social history during a visit to the centre. Displays are housed in the Great Cobar Copper Mine's magnificent administration building erected in 1910. Interpretive signs outside guide visitors through the grounds and an amazing collection of mining and transport artefacts, and on to the surrounding heritage areas.20,000 objects relating to the social, mining, pastoral and Aboriginal history of the Cobar district, ranging from large transport to fine instruments. Includes over 3,000 photographs and 50 art...
The museum is housed in a 100 year old weatherboard cottage with additional items held in a re-located cottage and sheds. There are also displays outside. The collection began as a Bicentenary celebration project and features displays depicting the history of Junee and district, and family histories.
The museum is devoted to the preservation of all manner of items from the railways of New South Wales, including the Dorrigo Branch line. There are currently 57 locomotives, 300 carriages and wagons and thousands of small exhibits. Work continues on preparing the site for the display of trains and carriages. While no date has been determined for the official opening there are plans to have open days when the public will have the opportunity to view the exhibits. Totally volunteer organisation with 700 members, membership details available on request.The largest preserved railway...
The Australian Museum, established in 1827, was Australia's first museum. It holds unique and extensive collections of natural science and cultural artefacts. Extensive programs in research, education and exhibitions reflect the museum's focus on biodiversity and environmental issues, Australian fauna, evolution, the geological past, the cultural heritage of Aboriginal Australians and the peoples of the near Pacific and Indonesia, and the cultural diversity of the Australian population.Biological collections (Mammals, Birds, Reptiles, Amphibians, Fishes, Insects, Arachnids, Molluscs, Marine...
The front building of the Museum was originally used as a house dating from 1842. It is the only remaining house building in the CBD area of Port Macquarie from that era.
All artefacts on display show development from convict beginnings to early settlement from the 1840s. Displays at the museum include; a 'street of shops' depicting life as it was in the 1800s and a prize-winning costume collection. The museum has been in operation for over 40 years and is the winner of awards for best museum.More than 20,000 items collected over a period of 40 years. Artefacts from all aspects of Port...
Collection of unique materials recording the history of the Marrickville area (includes Newtown, Marrickville, Stanmore, Petersham, Tempe, Dulwich Hill and St. Peters). Included are photographs, posters, leaflets, banners, maps, wide range of local ephemera as well as a collection of two local potteries - "Diana Pottery" and "Fowler Pottery".4000 photographs, 100 pieces of pottery, 1000 ephemera, 2000 books and journals
The Australian Credit Union Archives collects, records and maintains material of historical and archival importance to the Australian Credit Union Movement. An Archivist, Administrative Staff and Volunteers staff its office.170 shelf metres
The Sydney Tramway Museum is Australia's oldest tramway museum and the largest in the Southern Hemisphere and is located in the Southern Sydney suburb of Loftus. The Sydney tramway service was a world class undertaking operating 1535 tramcars at its peak. In 1944/45 it carried over 404.6 million passengers. An excellent video on the system, "Shooting Through", is Available from the museum. The Museum has an extensive range of Sydney Trams in its 60+ tram fleet. These include "C" cars 290 (Australia's oldest preserved electric car, built 1896) and 29, single truck saloon...
The Society was formed in 1963 and since 1968 has opeated a museum in the former School of Arts building, which is heritage-listed. The purpose of the Museum is the collecting, preserving and interpreting of local heritage for everyone. The Society aims to promote local history, including family history and the Museum collection, to the local community and the general public.Dungog Museum has a wide range of items representing local and family history. The collection reflects the area's rural history, including dairying and the timber industry, and local manufacturing including items from...
The New England Regional Art Museum houses the renowned Howard Hinton and Chandler Coventry Collections which together with the NERAM and Armidale City Collections create what has been called the jewel in the crown of regional galleries. It is the policy of NERAM to preserve, conserve, promote and display all its collections and to promote and display all forms of art. NERAM encourages practicing Australian artists through exhibitions and associated programs. NERAM also pursues an active and innovative education and outreach program to encourage members of the community to actively...
Historical Cottage built in 1887. Corrugated iron and log sheds (shearing Shed Style). Extensive collections maintained, restored, conserved by volunteers. Special exhibitions arranged in line with community events such as a wool display for prime stock day and a "1901" theme for the centenary of federation.Local rural community archival religions and phonographs. Historical cottage with turn of the century display. i.e. Kitchen with old fuel stove, meat safes, butter churning, china, lace, linen, silver teapots. Antique farming machinery, office equipment, sulkies harness etc.
Convict built church commenced 1824, also surgeon's dispensary (now chapel) and surgeon's residence both built between 1821 and 1823. All furnishings of cedar, including box pews. Several items dating from early 1800's others from 1824 onwards. Church hill oldest site in Port Macquarie. Grave of Captain Rolland under front N.E. box pew (first supervisor of convicts building the church). An exquisite open string spiral cedar staircase in tower. There are many unusual (because of age mostly) and beautiful objects in our church, perhaps the most outstanding is the stained glass window of St...
This is only a new building having been officially opened in September 1991. It is situated about 100 yards from the main street through town and though only small , all collections are quite unique and graphically depict the displays they represent.Gerringong Museum's strength lies in a series of small, though compact displays. As we are a dairying district this exhibit takes pride of place, includes types of cattle and tools. A Geology and Fauna display. Models of early shops - an exhibit of Kingsford Smiths "Southern Cross" and records of Pioneer families.
Buildings include; the old lockup and residence (1870) which houses the museum; and the Sergeant's Residence which is the research centre. Next door is the old Court House (pre 1900). The society researches and publishes historical material relevant to Scone and district, creates special exhibitions (Australia Day, Horse Festival) and collects material relevant to the district.Estimated 20,000 objects plus records and photographs.

The Museum is a former Methodist church and rebuilt slab settlers cottage furnished with Australian colonial furniture, mostly home made & original. It contains displays pertaining to the family histories of people from the Laralga district.Local history eg. Machinery used for dairying, potato growing, cropping etc. Photographs of local interest. Books from now closed stores, ledgers etc.

Housed in the East Wing of the historical Bathurst Court House in the centre of the city. Opposite King's Parade, the Carillon, Evans Memorial and Boer War Memorial. Enclosed at the back by the beautiful and historical Machattie Park. In an area surrounded by many well preserved historical buildings in the city's conservation area.Collection of late 19th Century and 20th Century items from Bathurst and surrounding districts. Excellent photographic collection. Excellent collection of rare Ben Chifley memorabilia including many personal items.
The Museum building dates back to C1871 when James Campbell Duff built a general store. The building is the oldest commercial premises in Wingham.Local History as seen in photos, farm equipment, hospital equipment, home life, education, good living, music and wartime. Also a collection of Local and Family History Archives.
Tarella Historic Cottage is in its original condition. In 1879 John McLaughlin was granted 50 acres in the Blue Mountains in recognition of his service in the NSW Volunteer Force. The grant is on Cox's Road at the site of 'Hobby's Reach', the stretch of road constructed by LT. Hobby in Cox's absence. In C.1886 John McLaughlin built Tarella as a holiday home for his family, and it was in the family's ownership until 1988 when the last remaining daughter Beryl (there being no issue) bequeathed the cottage, the contents and the remaining three acres to the Blue Mountains Historical Society. A...
The Turkish Bath Museum, having been built in the 1880's by Richard Wynne, a founder of Mt Wilson and the benefactor for the Wynne Art Prize for Landscape and Sculpture, is situated on a hill facing north overlooking the Blue Mountains National Park and is part of the heritage estate of 'Wynstay' which is listed on the State Heritage Register. The Museum is also on the National Heritage register. Now partly conserved, it is a stylish building with beautifully stained and hand painted glass windows, polychrome brick work, Italianate decoration and an elaborate turret. Although there is only...
The Sydney Archdiocesan Archives is available to users, by prior arrangement on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. A list of archival and genealogical information is on the web. St Mary's Cathedral Sydney Registers of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials up to c 1900 are held as hardcopies and on microfilm. Also historical information is available for the cathedral, including architect's drawings for the Catholic Archbishops, Clergy and Parishes of the Sydney Archdiocese. Other items in the collection include Liturgical and Rubrical books, Illuminated Addresses and Sydney Catholic Serial...

Pages