Merrigum District Historical and Educational Society

Built in 1905 as a general merchant's store and attached residence, the Museum now houses the L.L. Pitts photographs and items from local organisations, general interest and farming objects.. Unique photographs taken by Lilian Louisa Pitts between 1900 and 1928 record the lives and times of Merrigum. The house has each room displayed in setting for that room e.g. bedroom, kitchen. Each year in May, Heritage Day is held with many operating displays.

Address: 
111-115 Waverley Avenue, Merrrigum, VIC
Hours: 
2-4pm 1st and 3rd Sundays in the month (At other times by arrangement)
Admission: 
Donation
Facilities: 
Access for the disabled, car and bus parking, picnic area and café nearby, guided tours, information brochure.
Collection: 
Estimated 3000 items. The museum was built in 1905 as a general store and residence. The collection consists of local history artefacts, domestic and agricultural. Photographs from L.L. Pitts collection.
Share