Medals and Badges

A collection of motor vehicles and motorcycles from the 1900s to the 1990s, the Museum contains over 100 exhibitions which are regularly changed. The vehicles are available for special presentations and functions.Approximately 100 items and memorabilia
The Museum contains may culinary domestic items as well as some antique machinery and office equipment. Medals, coins, clothing, bottles and approximately 1,000 historic photos are displayed at two monthly intervals, as the area only allows for a small percentage to be displayed at one time.250 items; 1,000 photos
The National Trust properties are an integral part of Tasmania's unique heritage. They are maintained by the National Trust for your inspection and enjoyment. Take the time to visit these Properties and experience Tasmania's historic past first hand. See separate Guide entries for each property: Battery Point Walks, Clarendon, Entally House, Franklin House, Home Hill, Old Umbrella Shop, Penitentiary Chapel and Criminal Courts, Runnymede House, White House.House museums of the 1800's furnished in the period colonial and English furniture.
The Cygnet Living History Museum is a central display area and archive for the information, photographs and artefacts pertaining to the history of the Cygnet region and the wider Hvon. Information is being constantly researched and added to the Museum's collection. Visual displays which change quarterly, are used by the museum to highlight topics of the area's unique local history. Past displays have included settlement and establishment of the region, family histories, historic buildings, wooden boat building, timber and other industries, festivals, probation stations and the convict era....
(i) to preserve & maintain the "Victoria" Powder Magazine building situated on Carriage Drive, Queens Domain, Hobart within the guide-lines laid down for historic buildings on the register of National Estate.

(ii) to establish & maintain a museum relating to the military theme "the defences of the Derwent" from 1803 to 1945, at the "Victoria" Powder Magazine.

(iii) to raise monies pursuant to objectives (i) & (ii) by conducting military re-enactments in period uniform, and by acquiring, buying and selling Tasmanian Colonial & Commonwealth militaria. The assets and income of STVAS, shall be...
A railway museum with working and static exhibits including Tasmania's oldest surviving steam locomotive. Trains run on the hour 10am to 4pm on a scenic line along the Don River to Coles Beach, Devonport. A large and varied collection of steam and diesel locomotives and passenger and revenue stock dating from 1869 to 1954. Stations, Signal box, communication equipment and railway memorabilia.11 x Steam Locomotives ; 7 x Diesel Locomotives and rail cars ; 26 x Passenger/Guards carriages, (50 +) x wagons and flat tray wagons, Railway cranes, extensive collection of tools, engineering equipment...
The "Old Court House" was built in 1938 and was used as a Court of Petty Sessions until the 1970's and for Council meetings until 1993. The Bruny History Collection was established in 1988 and the History Room opened in 1997. The History Room provides a venue for the community and visiting public to peruse information on Bruny Island's history with subjects arranged in alphabetical order including Aboriginal History, Convicts, Family Trees, Industries, schools, Wars and many others.The collection contains items of yesteryear, local community archival records and photographs including a...

Authentic buildings including a school, church, homesteads, public halls and shops now house a collection of domestic items and agricultural equipment. Nestled on the lower reaches of the Wimmera River, the Wimmera Mallee Pioneer Museum covers 4.5 Hectares and houses an extensive collection of farm machinery and a window into the lifestyles of the European Settlers from the mid 1800's to the mid 1900's.

The Corps of Commissionaires facilitates the transfer of capability from the uniformed services to other work situations. The Corps Memorial Gallery contains a variety of military memorabilia (excluding firearms) associated with the major conflicts in which members of the corps have served.Primarily photographs and pictures. Some medals and other pieces of equipment.
The Historical Society of Mooroopna is situated in the historic Mooroopna Manor, which was previously the Mooroopna Hosipital. The Museum is located on the 1st floor of the manor, in the former hospital operating suite. Displays explore aspects of local history and medical history.Approximately 3,000 items including photographs, certificates, maps, documents, newspapers, instruments, tools, paintings and a library.

The Museum, consists of an historic post office (1890), a early and later period school buildings, pioneer's cottage and a bark hut. Lewis Lasseter (of fabled gold reef fame) - story of his activities in the district. His work boat is on display at the Museum. Displays deal with local history - from the discovery of gold, followed by timber getting, then dairying. As the area developed into a thriving community.Approximately 800 artefacts and 2000 photographs, and 100 documents

The Centre is housed in the historic Port Fairy Court House, formerly the district's Supreme court. The main courtroom is intact and includes the original furniture. Four other rooms feature displays on shipping and seafarers of the area, local properties and the origins of Port Fairy, one of Victoria's oldest settlements. Temporary exhibitions relating to the history of the area are also provided.
Housed in the Mechanics' Institute building, Sorrento, a limestone building classified by the National Trust. The Museum contains artefacts, Aboriginal relics, photographs and documents, models, nineteenth century fashions and household equipment, examples of early technology, shipwreck relics and memorabilia from pioneering families and the great George Coppin. The museum has received accreditation from Museums Australia.Approximately 4000 items some 2000 of which are photographs. The collection covers the history of the Parish of Nepean, Shire of Mornington Peninsula, ie. Rye, Sorrento and...
The Museum and Library of the Society is housed in the hundred year old former Heidelberg Court House, complete with many original furnishings. The regularly changing displays of artefacts, photographs, prints and maps provide an informative insight into the development of Heidelberg and district.2000 items, 2000 photograph
Constructed in 1857 when the Bellarine Peninsula was an important grain growing area, this Mill was one of the first to use steam power. When it closed in 1874 the machinery was sent to the Wimmera. The building now houses pioneer and militaria artefacts.5000 objects
Our Museum consists of a house and various out buildings located on two town blocks in Port Welshpool. The collection is spread over the whole area. Our strong point is the early fishing industry in Corner Inlet, including a daily diary kept by the Smith family from 1887-1958. Housed in Welshpool's first residence (1881), the Museum contains a local history collection that includes natural history objects, fishing and maritime artefacts. Original display cases house a magnificent shell collection that dates from the 1800s.Our collection is the contents of the house which is now the museum,...
A comprehensive and fascinating collection of early photographs, maps, collectables, historic documents, (including Camperdown Chronicles), artefacts and memorabilia.

The Museum's Aboriginal name translates as "home of yesterday". It is housed in a bluestone and brick building built in 1874. Displays, including many photographs, dressed models, clothing and farm machinery, reflect the gold mining rush of 1856. The Mooney and Charles Best collections of Aboriginal artefacts are also featured, the Mooney collection being on loan from the City of Ararat.Approximately 4000 items, plus 1000 photographs

The Museum is dedicated to conserving and displaying items relating to the local history of the Borough of Queenscliffe since 1838. The diverse collection reflects the many aspects of the development of Queenscliffe; sea pilot station, fishing village, military guardian of Port Phillip Bay and fashionable sea-side resort. The museum building is set in a grassed reserve between the Post Office and the Library in the main street of Queenscliff and houses both temporary and permanent exhibitions.Photographs from 1862 representing people, buildings, installations and the marine environment....
Melbourne Museum aims to inform and inspire visitors.

Melbourne Museum stands adjacent to the historic Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton Gardens. Together, they constitute the largest museum complex in the Southern Hemisphere.

Melbourne Museum uses the latest technology and interpretation methods to present educational exhibitions and programs on science and technology, indigenous cultures, the environment, the human mind and body and Australian society.

National icons on display include Phar Lap, Australia's greatest ever racehorse, and CSIRAC (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research...