Nativity House is the only Christmas Museum in Australia. It displays over 600 nativity scenes (cribs) from 60 countries. The materials used to create a nativity scene are unique to each country and include silk, gold, silver,, wood, ebony, maize leaves, straw, wood shavings, embroideries, plaster terracotta, clay, turtle shell, glass and crystal. Other displays include antique Christmas cards, handcraft and nativity paintings after the old masters. A unique multicultural Christmas celebration which shows the true meaning of Christmas, which is the birth of Christ.The true meaning of...
This local history museum is housed in a former School of Arts (1896) that has been rebuilt with the original facade intact. It includes displays on bushrangers who roamed the area (Ben Hall, Gardiner), famous locals such as Henry Lawson, Jan Lehane (tennis player) and Stan McCabe (Cricketer)Extensive local historical records, maps and photographs, extensive local family history records. Comprehensive displays of household items, musical items, sporting records, bushrangers, war records, local business memorabilia, local government records, local newspapers.
The Museum of Contemporary Art is Australia’s only museum dedicated to exhibiting, interpreting and collecting contemporary art from across Australia and around the world. With a continually changing program of exhibitions there’s always something new, exciting and inspiring to see at the MCA. Regular events, many of which are free, include lectures, performance and workshops throughout the year.

For touring exhibitions information go to,000 works (1960s - present)
The collection housed the Royal Australian Navy's presentations, relics and trophies, in buildings originally designed to warehouse armaments and ammunition. These are located on an island at the extreme western end of Sydney Harbour. The buildings date from 1865. Items from the collection are lent to most major maritime and military museums and throughout the Royal Australian Navy.Over 750,000 items
A Beau Geste-style fortress structure houses this social history museum. Its emphasis is on military history, with exhibits ranging from a Japanese tank to miniature soldiers. The Museum also features a historic comics section, stamps, hundreds of cameras, rare musical instruments and other items of general and Australian historical interest.
On 1 February 2004 the new Tweed River Art Gallery opened its doors. It was officially opened by NSW Governor, Professor Marie Bashir AO. The striking purpose built gallery was designed by award winning Brisbane architect Bud Brannigan, on land generously donated by Doug and Margot Anthony. Set on a hilltop location it offers stunning, magnificent and panoramic views of the Tweed Valley.

The building has an education/workshop centre, four exhibition spaces, performance space, library, and a café. The new spacious building offers a friendly, comfortable ambience which is enjoyed by many...
Wagga Wagga Regional Art Gallery is an innovative public art Museum serving the largest inland city in NSW. The Art Gallery is located in the architect-designed Civic Centre in the heart of the Cultural Precinct. Its facilities include large temporary exhibition spaces, a community gallery program for work by local artists, an Artist in Residence studio and a stand-alone gallery to exhibit the National Art Glass Collection.The significant collections include the National Art Glass collection, surveying contemporary art glass from its development in the 1960's to the present; a prominent...
The Museum was formerly the Kandos Methodist Church, a unique building built to an American plan, brought to the town by the manager of NSW Cement, Lime and Coal Co. in 1915.

The Museum has a strong focus on the Cement industry based in this shire. It is possibly the only Museum in the state to collect, record and present the history and devlopment of the cement industry. There are also large collections relating to the domestic, agricultural, leisure, communications and transport history of the area. An extensive photograph collection together with written records relating to the development...
Carss Cottage was built in the 1860s by William Carss, a Scottish emigrant and cabinet maker who came to Australia in 1831, brought here by the Reverend John Dunmore Lang. The Museum promotes Australian history, particularly that of the Kogarah municipality. Its displays are continually changing, highlighting local and national events. The collection includes a great variety of photographs, needlework, furniture etc.Approximately 2,000 items; 2,000 photographs
The Society was formed in 1963 and since 1968 has opeated a museum in the former School of Arts building, which is heritage-listed. The purpose of the Museum is the collecting, preserving and interpreting of local heritage for everyone. The Society aims to promote local history, including family history and the Museum collection, to the local community and the general public.Dungog Museum has a wide range of items representing local and family history. The collection reflects the area's rural history, including dairying and the timber industry, and local manufacturing including items from...
Local history of agricultural and mining machinery (mostly horse powered). 14 harvesters, 3 binders, 2 winnowers, 2 hay loaders, 2 hay presses, hay mowers-rakes, sweeps, chaffcutters, 4 wagons, sulkies, carts, 1926 I.H.C Truck, 1932 Bedford Truck, Tractors, ploughs, cultivators, seedsowers, wool presses, shearing plant.300 items
The Illawarra Museum collection is held in the first purpose-built Post and Telegraph Museum in Wollongong (1882-1892). The Museum operates on a voluntary basis. The objects collected and displayed relate to Illawarra's past with particular emphasis on the years at the close of the 19th Century. The Society has a collection of over 9,000 photographs in custody of Wollongong City Library and has also published many books on local history. The collection presents a picture of pioneer life including settlement, education, agriculture, mining, transport and trade. The entrance room features a...
The building is known as the "Sergeants Residence" and was constructed in about 1871. It adjoins the police complex. The museum contains many aspects of the social life of this area; including an early bedroom, an early dining room, an early kitchen, two rooms depicting aspects of early life in this area, part of the early courthouse, a chemist shop, a hospital room, a blacksmiths shop and an agricultural machinery exhibit.An historical collection of Queanbeyan and district, ranging back well into the 1800's. This collection is strictly applicable to Queanbeyan and district.
The Liverpool Museum was established in 1989 and aims to preserve and promote Liverpool's history and cultural heritage through historical collections, exhibitions and public programs. They explore changing cultural experiences of local people - ways of living, working and believing (in workplaces, homes and communities).

Items from the past are used extensively in Museum exhibitions and public programs - community addresses, education programs and publications.

The Museum includes historic Collingwood House, which dates from 1810 and was the home of Nantucket whaling Captain Eber Bunker. Known...
Collection of photographs of early fishing, timber and shipping industries in the area. Files of early pioneer families and local history. Early timber-working tools and domestic artefacts.1910 Heritage listed post office building; artefacts pertaining to the area. Emphasis on collecting old photographs and local history research

Riversdale, built about 1840 as a coaching inn and residence is a fine example of a single-storey Colonial Georgian cottage set in flowering gardens. The property was purchased in 1875 by Edward Twynam, later to become Surveyor General of NSW and remained in this family until acquired by the Trust in 1967.Riversdale is renowned for its collection of fine Australian Colonial furniture, arts and craft dating from the late nineteenth century and the delightful garden.

The Museum is housed in one of Katoomba's historic sandstone residences. Situated half a kilometre from Echo Point, The Three Sisters and The Scenic Railway, the Museum is on all mountain scenic bus routes.The Museum's collection of purses and handbags dates from 1650 to the late 1900s and shows examples of fashion excesses and trends. There are over 400 items in the collection demonstrating many craft techniques such as beadwork, crochet and embroidery.
The Powerhouse Museum Research Library collection, services and staff expertise provide a rich research resource for museum staff, library visitors and colleagues in the cultural sector. The Research Library collection dates from the establishment of the museum in 1880. The collection is diverse and reflects the changing research requirements from the past and anticipates future research needs. The library collects to support exhibition development, publication production, education programmes, museology and corporate information needs.The research Library collection reflects the interests...
The gallery is housed in a historic coach house stables and grooms quarters. The society members' paintings are exhibited along with craft, pottery and painted porcelain. The society runs monthly demonstration days, life drawing and portrait evenings for members plus hosts the national Annual General Art Exhibition.Approximately 60 member's paintings.
Umbrella studio is a Townsville based visual arts organisation which supports contemporary art practice in North Queensland. Through a regular program of exhibitions, workshops, artist talks, films, multimedia and performance art events.