New South Wales

New South Wales

The Balmain Watchouse

The Watchouse is an old stone lockup designed by the Government Architect Edmund Blackett and built in 1854.

Bingara Museum

The museum, originally the Post Office Hotel, is of slab construction, with a puddled iron roof. Built in 1860, it was occupied continuously until 1970, (as a private home since World War I). The museum is furnished as a private home and features extensive photo and gem-rock collections.

Bishop's Lodge

Bishop's Lodge was built in 1889 for the Anglican Bishop of Riverina. It is an iron house, built with great technical innovation for the climate and soils of the Western Riverina.

Concord Heritage Museum

We promote the preservation of the historic Yaralla estate, and the awareness of historic buildings and sites in our area. We also aim to preserve items from the past showing the differences between life in the old days and the present.

Conservation Resource Centre

The Conservation Resource Centre records the history of houses, furnishings and gardens in New South Wales. It provides information, original source material and specialist services relating to domestic design history and building conservation.

Court House Museum

This restored Court House built in 1877 houses a collection of historic photos of Stroud and district.

Glenleigh Historic Home

This Scottish Baronial Style Mansion was built in the late 1880's by James Ewan. Glenleigh is said to be the finest example of Victorian interiors with stencilling of some degree in each room.

Headland Historical Museum

The Headland Museum at Nambucca Heads is a small, uncluttered Museum with a large photographic display depicting the early days of timber and shipping in the area. Some fine pieces of furniture, china, and ceramics are housed in the Museum, as well as craft, kitchenalia and farming implements.

Henry Kendall Cottage and Historical Museum

Built with convict labour in 1836-1840, Henry Kendall Cottage was once the home of pioneer poet Henry Kendall. One room contains some of his possessions. The remaining rooms are furnished as an old cottage.

Hills District Historical Society Inc

Local museum with over 4,000 photographs and several books on the Hills District for purchase. The museum conducts local area tours for adults and children. Guest speakers are available. Research facilities for local and family history are also available.2,000 items, 4,000 photographs.

Lachlan Vintage Village

The entry to the Lachlan Historical Village is the Trigilana Wool Shed. After crossing a suspension bridge, visitors can view the fifty five buildings which comprise the village, including stores, authentic homesteads, a bank, a school, the gaol and a gold mining area.

Eskbank House

The house, built from local sandstone in 1842 for Thomas Brown, the man who first established the coal industry in Lithgow, stands in a hectare of beautiful lawns and gardens.

Lake Tabourie Museum

The Museum's exhibits include snakes, spiders, minerals, Aboriginal artefacts, shells, war memorabilia and early twentieth century farm implements. A number of historically furnished rooms are also on display.1,000+ items

La Perouse Museum

This Museum looks at the expedition of Count Laperouse through the Pacific between 1787-1788. The collection contains objects from Laperouse wrecks and generic navigational and maritime history.


Built in 1885-6, Meroogal is a 5 bedroom timber house with "Gothic" trimmings. Four generations of women from the Thorburn family have occupied the house. Their daily routines, domestic chores and the pursuit of genteel interests have left indelible marks on the house.