South Australia

South Australia

Glencoe Woolshed

Built in 1863, from local limestone, this 36 stand woolshed has hand adzed, cathedral like blackwood beams and pit sawn supporting posts. Only blade shearing was used in this shed as it was never converted to mechanised shearing.

Booleroo Steam and Traction Preservation Society Inc

Our Museum covers an undercover area of 2,500 sq metres. It contains an extensive collection of tractors, stationary engines, steam engines plus collections of bottles, tractor seats, magnetos and other early farm memorabilia.

Hawker Museum

The Museum holds a collection of Aboriginal artefacts and objects pertaining to European settlement of the Flinders Ranges.

Performing Arts Collection of South Australia

The Performing Arts collection has a breathtaking, exciting gallimaufry of artefacts representing the rich heritage of the performing arts in this State.

Museum of Classical Archaeology

The Museum holds a collection of artefacts from the Old World, from the Bronze Age to the Middle Ages.

Papua New Guinea Display Centre

The owner, Miss Crouch, spent 26 years in Papua New Guinea in medical work. She shares something of this experience with visitors to the Centre. The Display Centre is her own property.

Excell Blacksmith and Engineering Workshop Museum

Wheel righting, forge welding and blacksmithing were undertaken in this workshop by the Excell family. The workshop is complete in its original state from the 1905 and 1935 era.

Yallum Park

Yallum Park is a private home, bought by the present owners in 1914. It is the homestead of a working property, owned by Glen Clifford. The two storey homestead was built by John Riddoc in 1880.

Port Broughton Heritage Centre

The very down to earth "lived with", hands-on centre contains many historical papers, photos, articles and a beautiful "Plangon" doll collection.

The Old Courthouse Law and Heritage Centre

The Museum is in the original Courthouse in Mount Gambier, built in 1865. Many of the original furnishings and fittings still remain, as well as historic photos and interpretive displays. The original courtroom is now used for mock trials.

Koppio Smithy National Trust Museum

Situated in the picturesque Koppio Hills, the Museum consists of a fully restored blacksmith shop built in 1903, an historic cottage, also restored, and displays of farm machinery and other items of interest from around the turn of the century.

Old Wool and Grain Store

This historical building holds a collection of local history items and memorabilia relating to whaling, fishing, agriculture and social history. A blacksmith shop is part of the complex, with the upstairs furnished in 1890s style.

Burra Mine Open Air Museum

The Burra Mine was the largest metal mine in Australia, with typically Cornish surface and underground operations. The mine was worked for copper from 1845 to 1877. Between 1971 and 1981 the mine was reworked by open cutting.

Morphett's Engine House Museum

The enginehouse has been fully restored (1986), apart from the original engine. A scale model (1:16) is fully operational and explained by guides. Videos (x3) provide further relevant information as do information boards on all three floors.

Goolwa Museum

The Museum interprets the story of Goolwa, Currency Creek and Hindmarsh Island from Aboriginal times through European settlement to the present day.

Signal Point River Murray Interpretive Centre

Signal Point River Murray Interpretive Centre is housed in modern, purpose-built quarters in the river front historic precinct of Goolwa. The centre is built in the site of the original Murray Mouth Navigational signal Mast/Station.

Riddoch Art Gallery

The Riddoch Art Gallery is South Australia's only publicly-funded and professionally-staffed regional gallery. It is named in honour of grazier and Philanthropist, John Riddoch, who donated the original collection of early Australian and British works.

Waterwheel Museum

The waterwheel, manufactured in Salisbury, was originally used on the Little Para River to pump water to irrigate a citrus orchard. It operated from 1911 to 1914, when it was abandoned. The Salisbury Rotary Club restored it and it is now housed in its own building.

Salisbury Folk Museum

The Museum occupies three rooms which were originally the residential part of the Old Police Station. It contains a comprehensive collection of general artefacts and personal items, many of which came from the family of John Harvey who founded Salisbury in 1848.