New South Wales

New South Wales

Nimbin Museum

Nimbin Museum is a journey through eight rooms in chronological order (Aboriginal, pioneer, and hippy eras) as the visitor follows the rainbow serpent path. One of the strengths of the collection is "hippypernalia".

Firearms Technology Museum

Situated in the historic village of Carcoar and housed in the former Commercial Bank building (1876), the museum shows the history of firearms from the matchlock to modern weapons. The English gunmaker of the percussion and early cartridge eras, William Tranter, is given a special prominence.

Gledswood Farm Museum

Gledswood Farm Museum is an attraction of Gledswood Homestead, itself a tourist destination and heritage attraction. The museum is located in the granary of the coach house.422 artefacts, 196 photographs

Local Studies Room, Ballina Library

The Ballina Branch of the Richmond-Tweed Regional Library holds a collection of items based on the history of Ballina and surrounding districts.

Schaeffer House

A 1901 Federation style house and attached annexe, furnished in pre-1900 period. The annexe houses the Society's local and family history section. This includes photographs, a local library and all Grafton newspapers since 1859.

Calala Cottage

The museum complex is made up of a cottage built by the first Mayor of Tamworth in 1875 adjacent to a vertical slab shepherd's hut (ca1845), both on their original sites.

Goulburn Regional Art Gallery

The Gallery is located in the Goulburn Civic Centre designed by Philip Cox Architects and completed in 1990.

Camden Historical Museum

Camden Historical Society was formed in 1957. It concentrates on the history of the town of Camden and the surrounding district. It developed, and runs, the Camden Historical Museum.

Artspace

Artspace is a changing exhibition venue space and educational resource. It focuses on contemporary visual art practices with an emphasis on conceptual works, installation practices, multi media and multidisciplinary works which explore technology, film, video and performance.

Alumy Creek Reserve Trust

Closed in 1969 as an official teaching establishment, the 1908 weatherboard teacher's residence and one-teacher schoolhouse set in 10 acres of recreation grounds, were restored as a Bicentennial project and the museum was subsequently opened in November 1988.

Ballina Opal and Gem Museum

This world standard collection is recognised as one of the finest private collections of its kind. It features an extensive range of opal in natural and cut slate, including an impressive display of local Tintenbar black opal.

The Balmain Watchouse

The Watchouse is an old stone lockup designed by the Government Architect Edmund Blackett and built in 1854.

Bingara Museum

The museum, originally the Post Office Hotel, is of slab construction, with a puddled iron roof. Built in 1860, it was occupied continuously until 1970, (as a private home since World War I). The museum is furnished as a private home and features extensive photo and gem-rock collections.

Binalong Motor Museum

The building is purpose built as a museum and workshop and sits several acres of gardens. Binalong is a small unspoiled village one hour from Canberra and three hours from Sydney. There is ample car parking at the Museum and facilities for barbecue and picnics.

Kempsey Museum

Designed by world renowned Australian architect Glen Murcutt, the building in which this museum is housed is considered to be the first Australian building. The museum traces the history of the Macleay Valley from the early time of the Aborigines to the present day.

Sydney Observatory, Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences

Explore the mysteries of the universe at Sydney Observatory, part of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences.

Pages